We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“East Bay Inn - Wonderful Experience!”
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“East Bay Inn - Wonderful Experience!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

In searching for Hotels in Savannah that excepted pets, we came across the East Bay Inn. I will say the location can't be beat, it is one block off of River Street and convenient to many other spots. The Inn is awesome. If you like old style charm, it is beautiful. The staff is amazing, friendly and always helpful. It is clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable. We stayed in a Superior Queen (#102 on first floor), which was very spacious, and we had our own little private courtyard too. We did not experience any noise from outside, or guests above that bothered us. Julie, at the front desk, was fabulous! All in all, I don't think we could have chosen better accommodations. My Wife and I, and our pup will definitely be back. Thank you East Bay Inn!!!

Room Tip: Have a pet! this B&B a great! We stayed in room 102 with private courtyard - great for fido.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jfa1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    278
    72
    32
    9
See reviews for
221
667
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manteo, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We booked this hotel on the recommendation of best friends who had already stayed with them twice in the past few years. Everything that they liked about the hotel we experienced ,as well, and then some. The most outstanding asset is that the staff is like family to each other and treated us like family as well. They were very accommodating in meeting our every need, from unloading our luggage upon arrival ,to turning down our covers each night. They answered any questions that we had about historic Savannah and even arranged for tickets to attractions and personal pick up at the hotel. The location of The East Bay in is right in the heart of the historic downtown district and in walking distance to many of the best attractions and restaurants. Incidentally, one of our favorite restaurants is Skylers located in the hotel itself. If you are looking for an upscale hotel that is furnished in antiques, has 14 foot ceilings and four poster beds, and won't miss the pool and fitness center, this is the hotel experience for you. We will certainly be returning soon.

Room Tip: Ask any of the staff about Charlie the resident spirit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GRC732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our 3rd trip to Savannah and our first stay at East Bay. The inn is directly across the street from the attractions on the river and close walking to many of the historic squares. Rooms are charmingly decorated with antique furniture and squeaky clean. Complimentary wine hour with abundance of hors d'oevres was a welcome touch. Breakfast though provided is adequate, not wonderful. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Back of inn or middle for a quieter sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogapal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILKLEY
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Well located for bayside & old city centre.
Checked in quite early & treated very well.
Parking at front meant you didn't dare drive away in case there wasn't a spot on return
Room was fine as was breakfast & price.
Evening wine reception was a joke, don't bother.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Inn is a fantastic location. Get your car parked and walk the city! Our room was very nice, but we did get a bit of street noise at night. The complimentary breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese were great. The city is so walkable and small that you can incorporate 'happy hour' into your site seeing. I highly recommend one of the walking tours - my husband and I would have missed out on a lot of history had we not done this. Also check out www.connectsavannah.com. It is a week-at-glance of what is going on in Savannah - and there is a lot going on in Savannah. It might be a deciding factor of when you go. The ferry that crosses over to the cultural center is free!

Room Tip: If you do not like street noice at night be sure to ask for the quietest room. East Bay Street has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmg1898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the East Bay in for four wonderful days. The rooms are gorgeous and the staff are friendly. The location is great to visit Savannah on foot, bring walking shoes! They serve a wine and cheese late afternoon in the lobby which provides the guests the opportunity to mingle and talk. A fantastic idea. We had four great get-togethers with several guests and it's kind of fun meeting people that you have a passing acquaintance with in the streets the next day. The only thing lacking is a good breakfast. They have a long long long way to go in that department. But it's not a total disaster as there are several cafés close by. We would most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonLongueuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Savannah from San Diego. We stayed in a double queen, facing a side street . The room was beautiful (just like the hotel picture). We didn't find noise a problem but if you are sensitive to noise, do not stay in a room facing East Bay Street; not only is there a lot of foot traffic, but it is a truck route.
The Good:
Charming property lovely room, absolutely fabulous staff - friendly and extremely helpful, location convenient to anything you would want to see in a 3-4 day stay (especially the River Front and the historic district. What needs improvement: Aside from a hotel hair dryer that may not have had the lint screen cleaned since Sherman's March, the room was very clean. What I did notice is that the bathroom needs some "freshening" - new tile, fixtures, shower curtain etc. The condition of these things made the bath seem dirty when it really wasn't. Also, while our sheets were clean, they were OLD and were rough. Also, there are many negative comments on Tripadvisor about the food, and I found them to be accurate. The breakfast offerings were fine in terms of type and quantity, but it was the preparation and quality that was the problem - the bake goods were supermarket quality and the eggs were bland and watery. These things didn't prevent us from enjoying the property, but they kept my rating from being excellent. It seems to me that these are not difficult nor expensive things to fix.
We truly enjoyed our stay and if we come back to Savannah, the East Bay Inn is certainly on our list of places to stay and we will certainly recommend this place to our friends.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sides are quieter. Also, it is an old building and the floors do creak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,703 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,284 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Property: East Bay Inn
Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern amenities and historic ambiance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from River Street, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing