We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Divine Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #7 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Divine Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

the Eastbay Inn is the finest and most comfortable establishment I have stayed in that I can remember!! My cousin and I had a two queen bed room which was large and beautifully furnished. The beds were the absolute most comfortable I have slept in. the entire staff was so friendly, helpful and courteous and went above and beyond to make us feel right at home. The complimentary breakfast and wine reception enhanced the total package and made our stay totally complete and absolutely superb in every way. The location was PERFECT for walking everywhere. I will certainly recommend the Eastbay Inn to all !!! Skylars restaurant downstairs was incredibly delicious and cozy!!! Service was fantastic!!!

Room Tip: I chose the two Queen bed room for my cousin and me, it was very spacious, large bathroom and extrem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trixie51_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    228
    60
    27
    8
See reviews for
167
536
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newport, NC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Since we rented an apartment for our week stay, but wanted to go into town a day early-we chose this old inn so we could see the Savannah River district Christmas parade. Our corner room was absolutely beautiful, and huge. Comfy bed, soaring high ceilings, outer brick walls, opulent bed and window coverings. The lady at the desk was a delight, even put down the phone to walk out front and show us where to drive for parking. There was a lovely evening wine reception with cheeses and light fare, plus a good red and white wine. We were able to walk directly out the door to see the parade with the crowd, then over to River Street later. Very convenient, quiet, and a real treat.

Room Tip: superior queen rooms are quite large, with comfortable seating and bedding
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pojismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at the East Bay Inn during November, and our stay was great. The staff is exceptional- especially Julie who answered all our questions, gave us a bit of history, and helped us make all our reservations while in town. The rooms were beautiful, and we loved the location. We were situated near all the town's highlights. The breakfast was pretty simple, and could use a little help, but otherwise, the East Bay Inn was amazing and I'd recommend staying there to anyone who visits Savannah.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This was our first stay in Savannah and I can tell you we are coming back. We stayed at the East Bay Inn and this is a winner. This is a boutique historic hotel with lots of charm and Charlie the ghost visits sometime. We parked our car at the hotel and did not move it until we left because the hotel is located within walking distance of the attractions and restaurants. In fact, tripadvisor said I had 182 restaurants to chose from with in 1 mile. We did not eat at everyone but every place we chose was very good to excellent. Food selection should not be a problem.

The people at the Inn are very helpful and will will help you with tours and will book them for you. Don’t miss the 5:30 to 7:00 wine and cheese event in the Inn. It is a great opportunity to talk with the other guest and fine out what they visited during the day, which could be your next day events.

I will definitely stay at this Inn on my return trip to Savannah and would recommend you should also stay at Inn.

Room Tip: We chose a room off of Bay Street. Bay Street is a busy street and rooms facing this street could h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank standingj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland or
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We just got home after staying a week at the East Bay Inn. It was delightful. Beautifully decorated for the holidays and such a comfortable place to be. The staff was exceptional...very helpful and informative regarding their city and what it has to offer. Great location, lovely rooms and comfortable beds. We were so glad that we chose the East Bay Inn.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor...not on the street side and it was perfectly quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heatherPortlandOr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford Ct
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We went to visit my Daughter after Thanksgiving, for three days. Found the Inn on a travel site. Our room was a cozy Queen, with 10' ceilings exposed handmade bricks, there was fingerprints in one of them, I put my fingers and felt a connection with a long deceased brick maker. A wine reception in the evening gave us a chance to meet the other guests. The beds turned down with mints on the pillows, we had a small cooler, when I went to get more ice our second day the bucket was filled. There is a journal in the room for guests to write in.
Savannah is a walking city with parks everywhere; a nice stay will be back.

Room Tip: One reviewer mentioned rooms on streetside being noisy if you are a light sleeper (I'm not)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garymtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent two nights in Savannah at East Bay Inn. We were in Room 320, a double queen room. It was very beautiful! However it does face Bay Street so it was pretty noisy early in the morning. It wasn't bad during the night but if you are a light sleeper, I'd recommend a room facing a different direction. The floors squeaked a lot. Nobody was above us so we didn't hear anybody else squeaking. I feel sorry for whoever was staying below us though. The outlet in the bathroom didn't work which made it a little challenging to dry my hair. This could be the ghost Charlie doing his thing....

Julie, at the front desk was awesome. She recommended The Olde Pink House for dinner and it was wonderful. Only a couple blocks from the Inn. We were fortunate to get a parking place in the tiny lot and never moved our car. Many restaurants and the River Street area are within walking distance. Julie also arranged a trolley tour for us which was great. Savannah is a beautiful city and I hope to visit again. I'd stay at East Bay Inn again but I'd also like to try one of the other Inns in the area. Several looked very nice.

The wine and cheese in the lobby in the evening was fun. We met some other guests and enjoyed talking to them. The continental breakfast wasn't anything special - kind of like what you'd find at a Comfort Inn. But it was adequate. Unfortunately the restaurant wasn't open for dinner the evenings we stayed, So we weren't able to try it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#6 of 112 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 2,138 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#9 of 112 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 2,601 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Property: East Bay Inn
Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern comfort and classic elegance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from the Riverfront, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Breakfast, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing