We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What not to love?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What not to love?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This beautiful historic quaint Inn was perfect for our first girls getaway in Savannah. The location is just perfect, within walking distance to shops & restaurants, the wine reception was very nice, the staff was great & friendly and definitely shows the southern hospitality and of course, Melvin the bellman is just the best. We went to the Savannah Theater in the evening and had the best of time. Awesome performance.
I will come back and stay at the East Bay Inn again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w0rldtr4veler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    264
    70
    31
    9
See reviews for
207
623
25
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Love the wood floors and exposed brick, gives you that old time Savannah feel. It is a great location for walking to all the sites, shopping and restaurants. The wine reception in the evening was nice, enjoyed talking with fellow travelers.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shegrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schertz, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and i stayed three night's at the Inn and enjoyed everything.The staff was very friendly and helpful.Melvin the bellman was great.Room was great and quite and the beds were very comfortable.Inn is within walking of most everything. We did not use our car the whole time we stayed in Savannah.Will definitely stay again if we go to Savannah.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

My best friend and I had a "girl's getaway" to Savannah for two days. We stayed at the East Bay Inn and I can't say enough good things about our visit! From the moment we walked through the front door the entire staff was warm and welcoming! "Melvin the Bellman" was fabulous! He was so very helpful and informative and quite entertaining too! Our room was gorgeous! We were on the third floor and had very high ceilings (21 feet, I believe). The room had beautifully detailed crown molding and one wall even had the original brick exposed. The room was furnished in antiques. The beds were heavenly.....oh so comfy! Another very nice touch was the journal in our room. Previous visitors who had stayed in the room left their comments and suggestions of places to eat and things to see and explore while in Savannah. Great idea! Everyone commented about "Charlie" as well (the resident ghost of room 320). The breakfast was great! Melvin the Bellman even stopped by our table with the coffee pot to pour us more coffee as he was passing through the dining room! As we were checking out, the wonderful lady at the front desk gave us bottles of cold water to take with us as we mentioned that we were going to head out on a walking tour. Everything about the East Bay Inn was perfect! Perfect location, perfect rooms, perfect staff...it was truly Southern Hospitality at its finest! I will have stayed in other hotels in Savannah in the past but after my visit to East Bay Inn, I will never stay anywhere else when I return to Savannah! The only disappointment was that "Charlie" did not pay us a visit! If he did, we were too tired to find it out!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 days and 4 nights at the East Bay Inn. Everything was wonderful!! The staff was very friendly and efficient. The room was comfortable, clean and well apointed. The proximity of the Inn was perfect. We were within walking distance from anywhere we wanted to go. We will definitely stay there again. Thank you East Bay Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodknack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here two nights in August. Location is just perfect, directly across from Factors Walk and then down to the riverfront. And one block from the nearest square. It's a long walk to Forsyth Park but everything else is easily walkable, even in brutal heat and humidity. Room had 15 feet ceilings with exposed brick wall. Large, comfy beds. Lots of room to walk around. Parking was very convenient right in front of entrance. Afternoon cordials was so quaint. Breakfast was just on par with a Hampton Inn, but hey it's free. The best part was Julie the front desk attendant. She was part den mother, part travel agent. She helped us out with every little request and went so far as to call a friend in Charleston to check on flooding conditions there when she learned that we were heading there after our Savannah stay. I noted that some other reviews compliment Julie. She really deserves the kudos.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street so we had some traffic noise at night. Even though traffic is very light o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeloNYello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

My girlfriends and I spent three nights during Labor Day weekend. It was fabulous! The service was excellent, especially Julie at the front desk. We couldn't ask for a more beautiful room with a great view. It is close to everything. We parked our car the first night and never used it. We highly recommend it and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boppa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Property: East Bay Inn
Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern amenities and historic ambiance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from River Street, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing