We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Southern Comfort”
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #9 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2012

For those looking for a place where...

. you are in the heart of the historic district
. there is a staff that goes above and beyond your expectations
. the accommodations contain an old-fashioned charm, but are impeccably clean, with modern amenities

...then make sure to stay at the East Bay Inn.

We rented the entire 28 room Inn for my wedding, and it could not have been a more perfect choice for accommodations.

Ronnie (the Innkeeper) is a hands-on owner is an infinitely kind and generous man, whose calm demeanor never waivers no matter how great or how small a request or problem.

The Front Desk Staff of Sheila, Melinda, & Julie were always courteous, supremely knowledgeable of the area, and always had a smile and a cold bottle of water to welcome you back.

Melvin the Bellman fast, efficient, and has a great personality. Make sure to ask Steve the Maintenance man about his son's homebrewed beer and of course Charlie the Ghost made sure his presence was known too!

The Inn is across the street from River St., a short walk to Market Square, around the corner from the Old Pink House, 2 blocks from shopping on Broughton St. and 20 minutes to Tybee Island Lighthouse and the beach.

The rooms are clean, well lit, elegantly furnished, with high ceilings and exposed brick, plus a ton of room.

Whether its the morning breakfast, afternoon meet and greet with wine and hors d oeuvres, or the evening room turn down, the East Bay Inn does them all with an honest simplicity that cannot but make you feel relaxed and at home here.

I cannot thank them enough for their warmth and for creating a truly memorable weekend.

All of the 85 guests at our wedding will all be coming back.

Room Tip: Room 102 is dog friendly and has a small courtyard and I loved the rooms on the 3rd floor at the fro...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,254)
There are newer reviews for East Bay Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,045 - 1,051 of 1,256 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

Our room was exactly what we hoped for and imagined. Extremely comfortable and just the right amount of haunted ambiance. Staff very helpful, very friendly, went above and beyond. The wine was actually quite delicious, and there was more than the usual cheese and crackers (veggies, chicken salad in phyllo dough). The price for the room turned out to be very reasonable. We stayed at other places for more money and less enjoyment and beauty. Melinda was especially helpful and kind. Locale perfect, walking distance to everything. We will return for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magnolia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Inn is beautifully decorated and the staff is very friendly and welcoming. After checking in, a bellman helped us with our luggage (standard procedure) and escorted us to our room. The room was quite impressive with one bricked wall and (I'm guessing) 15-foot ceilings. Accommodations were comfortable, and included a love-seat and coffee table, in addition to the usual furniture. The bath was a basic bath (with a noisy fan that came on every time the light was lit) A continental breakfast was provided each morning, and while the selections were good, the hot offering was the same every morning (sausage patty, round/flat "egg", and warm biscuits) More variety would have been nice with the hot selections (it got old after the second day). Each evening a wine and cheese reception was served in the lobby. Parking was okay. If you were lucky enough to get a space on their small lot, parking was free; otherwise, you have to park in a public garage a block away, and pay $12 for 24 hours. Conveniently located across the street from the famous River Street and Savannah River, and within walking distance to all of the historic downtown attractions. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This was a very beautiful place to stay. It was my first B&B experience. I had a single room with two beds and the room was just so elegant. The location was the best part in my opinion. Just one street over from River St...It is kind of pricy but I guess thats what you expect from a palce like this.. But also it was over Memorial weekend. Only bad thing is there is not really any parking and you have to pay $12 for the parking garage which they add and include when you check in....

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Great boutique lodging. Historic building with large high ceiling rooms with lots of space. Excellent location on Bay Street right across the street from Factors Walk, Riverfront, and pretty much everywhere downtown you want to visit within walking distance. Great service and gives you the feeling of staying on Old Savannah and lots of privacy in your own room.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking Bay St.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My wife and I have tried several inn's and hotels in Savannah. After finding this amazing establishment we have made it a point to return every other year for New Years Eve. The rooms are amazing and the location is ideal for access to river street.

Room Tip: The upper floor Superior Queen rooms are the way to go! Street View is fantastic!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEHMANJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

This Inn is the best of the bed and breakfast experience. East Bay Inn has an ideal location, near historic Factors Walk and walking distance to outstanding restaurants, and a friendly and helpful staff with a desire for you to make the most of your time in Savannah. The rooms are tasteful, clean and full of antebellum charm.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pamtrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,809 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 114 in Savannah
1,327 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#12 of 114 in Savannah
3,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 114 in Savannah
1,114 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $156 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern amenities and historic ambiance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from River Street, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing