We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE BEST TIME EVER” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
gainesville, ga
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“THE BEST TIME EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

We just returned from our 2nd trip in the EAST BAY INN and as last time it was SUPER!!
The staff is wonderful and the location is right in the middle of the HIstoric District.. We parked our car and walked all over the area. We just cann't say enough good things about the staff and guests that stayed when we were in town. Julie even let us borrow a umbrella when it came a shower..Savannah is a great place to visit, and it is a very special place when you have good people around..LOOKING FORWARD TO OUR NEXT VISIT TO EAST BAY INN.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oakwoodmoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    256
    69
    31
    9
See reviews for
199
608
25
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

We spent two wonderful nights at this small, yet gracious hotel. The staff was both friendly and helpful. They suggested places to visit, restaurants to enjoy, tours to take. Definitely, a place to return to on future visits to Savannah.

Room Tip: Book through the internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sebringgeezers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

I booked this hotel after finding it on www.bringfido.com because it was pet friendly and they only charged a $40 pet fee. I am so glad I made this decision! I brought my mother to Savannah for a mother's day weekend. East Bay Inn was excellent! The location is excellent, the rooms are excellent and very spacious, and the staff goes above and beyond to make you feel right at home. It has tons of charm! Also, they serve a complimentary breakfast in the mornings and wine and cheese in the evenings. The staff was great to my pet as well. There is not a thing I would change about this place! In fact, driving home, my mother and I were already planning our next getaway to East Bay Inn in Savannah!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chexum24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

My husband and I were married in Savannah 6 years ago and we have stayed here at least once a year for the past 6 years. The East Bay Inn is an old, beautiful, historic building that still holds its' old world appeal and you can feel that each time you walk into the building. It is VERY southern, abundant with wood furniture, antiques and elaborate carpets and lighting. Before welcoming a dog into the family last year, we stayed in the corner front rooms on floors 2 and 3 which are lovely with high ceilings, exposed brick walls and beautiful detailed crown moldings. The only drawback is the traffic noise below on Bay Street. Now that we have a dog (and THANK GOD they welcome dogs!!!) we can only stay on the first floor. We like room 102 which has a side terrace, albeit on the parking lot. I stayed in room 106 last month (behind reception) and found that it was lovely but had no exposed brick, was noisy due to the employee door squeaking and banging right outside my door and the fact that people walking by could look directly into my room from the sidewalk (there are blinds on the giant windows that you can adjust to prevent this). This place could definately use some updating (carpets, bathrooms, breakfast area) but I love it nonetheless. You CANNOT beat the location to all of Savannah's "squares" or to River Street which is a 5 minute walk. Limited parking at hotel but complimentary parking in a city lot about a 5 minute walk. Free high speed internet is iffy. Evening cordials every night from 5-7 in the lobby (wine, cheese, crackers and fruit) are a nice time to have a nibble and meet other guests (a popular topic is "Charlie" the resident ghost...we only encountered him once in all our stays). Complimentary breakfast is nice (continental in nature) but would rather dine elsewhere (Cleary's or B. Matthews which is right around the corner) to have a more broad experience of Savannah. All in all, not a 5 out of 5 but a wonderfully rich, historic and romantic place to stay.

Room Tip: Front corner rooms on floors 2 or 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeisureLadyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
257 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

Wife and i stayed here for 2 nights. Great location. Comfortable rooms. In an old historic building which used to warehouse cotton back in the day. Free wine and cheese in the evenings. Breakfast in the mornings is nice. Within walking distance of just about everything in the city you want to see. My only complaint is very few parking spaces with your only option as paying to park in a parking garage, a half a block away.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

This is a beautiful, historic inn; excellent location and service. Rooms are lovely with comfortable beds, although the traffic outside bothered me a little (not my husband). Especially enjoyed the late, afternoon get together with guests in the lobby (light refreshments and wine provided by Inn). Great way to meet people from all over the US and international, and get ideas about places to visit, restaurants, etc. The staff is wonderful and very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cake68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

We stayed at the East Bay Inn for 2 nights over St. Patrick's Day weekend. The inn is beautiful, very secure, has a small parking lot, and the front desk staff was very nice and helpful. Our room was amazing- huge! I don't know if they upgraded us, but we paid for the "cozy queen" and figured it'd be a small room but comfortable. It was a huge room with antique furniture, sitting area, and windows overlooking the river area. The only complaint we have is that we could hear every step the people above us made. Understandable since it's an old building with nice wood floors. Small price to pay for such a great stay! We're pretty sure the resident ghost "Charlie" visited us- the picture hanging on the wall by the door was tilted diagonally when we woke up- and it was in a heavy, antique frame. We were quite entertained reading all the stories in the guest book, and adding our own about our engagement weekend and restaurant recommendations. We have recommended the East Bay Inn to friends and family that like to travel with pets, as it is a pet-friendly hotel. Great stay!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seashelli4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,439 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Property: East Bay Inn
Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern amenities and historic ambiance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from River Street, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing