We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terribly Disappointing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Midtown
Ranked #66 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Port Wentworth, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terribly Disappointing Stay”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is our third stay. Supposedly updated rooms contain only three small drawers. My husband and I could not unpack all our clothes. The room was never vacuumed; we found food and items under the bed when we dropped something. Bedding was torn and beds were not made properly nor the room cleaned. Bed skirts were dirty from dragging on the dirty floor. The tub had mold. The pool area is extremely rusty. The room was really musty.

Room Tip: We would recommend a suite if you can afford it or don't bring much clothing. It won't help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara A, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Midtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Mary,
I apologize that you were diasappointed with your stay. we have remodeled the rooms with new furniture and it is true that to acommodate every room with a refrigerator and microwave, perhaps some of the dresser space is small. I am sorry that you did not alert us to some of your other concerns during your stay when we spoke in the breakfast room. We appreciate the feedback and will definitely use it to fine tune our operations.
Sincerely,
Barbara Awad
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    176
    108
    73
    64
See reviews for
234
167
18
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I would first like to say that I am a Carlson Club member and we travel frequently and many times stay at the Country Inns. We were very disappointed in this property and would not recommend staying there.

We had a 2 bedroom suite which we unfortunately paid $200 a night. The inn is run down with a need for updates which I heard were going to be taking place. I would not stay here until they do.

Pros:
A wonderful, polite, helpful staff including the breakfast lady and the counter people.
Breakfast is not bad contrary to what some have written. It had scrambled eggs, ham, and tortillas, waffles, yogurt, fruit, cereal, juice etc. Plenty for everyone.

Everyone talks about the airfield noise but it really was not bad. In the evening there was some helicopter noise coming in and out but really it was OK and not disturbing.

Cons:
There was a mildew odor in the front lobby, not too bad but when we got to our room it was absolutely terrible. The AC did nothing to take it away. The humdity level in the room was 80%. We did check with the front desk and we were told to turn the AC up. Humidity went down to 66 % but we were freezing at 64 degrees. It was late so we just did the best we could but no one slept well between the humidty and the smell. My son who doesn't usually notice much about our hotel rooms complained constantly and days later that is all he talks about. The next night on the road when I opened my suitcase to change into pjs the clothes in the suitcase had actually all absorbed this odor. I washed the smell out of everything when I got home.

Bedding was stained and frayed as well as carpeting. The curtains in the room had not been cleaned in a very long time. They were gray with black spots on them.

Walls were marked and had peeling wallpaper as well as big chips of paint missing from parts of the door.

There were sticky marks on the surfaces of the sink counters and tables.

Bathroom fixtures had a white coating on them which I thought was permanent but I was able to clean it off so the people cleaning the room should have been able to do this. The toilet valves were actually completely covered in rust.

We usually don't have a problem with our rooms as long as they are clean. They don't have to be fancy but the AC problem and smell was overwhelming. I hope the do the well needed remodeling of this Country Inn and until they do I would not recommend any one stay here. There is a problem with the owners/management here that these issues have not been addressed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beachtraveler1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara A, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Midtown, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Patrica,
Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey.On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. We are working diligently to correct these issues and I appreciate that you brought them to my attention. As a gesture of good will, we would like to offer a complimentary upgrade based upon availability on your next stay. Please contact me when you are ready to make another reservation. again, i have made a list of all of your concerns and they will be promptly addressed.Please accept our apology and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please contact me directly at the phone number listed below.
All the best,
Barbara Awad
Director of Sales
Carlson Hotels/ Country Inn & Suites
912-692-0404
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We love Savannah. This is the third time we have visited but the first time we have stayed at midtown. While it is a drive into the historic district, it is a short one. This hotel is also located close to the mall and several restaurants. Anyone who has ever stayed or spent anytime downtown knows that eating in downtown, while enjoyable, can get expensive fast so the proximity of this hotel to restaurants is a real bonus.
The hotel, while perhaps dated, was well kept and clean. The pool area could use more lighting but the pool is heated and was a nice way to unwind after a long day. The hot tub, however, was lack luster as the jets produced very little movement in the water.
The breakfast was better than average for a hotel and was a great way to start the day before walking downtown and taking in the sights. Each morning there was an egg selection, a breakfast meat, oatmeal, yogurt, pastries, English muffins, and assorted juices and cereals. Much more than adequate.
The staff was friendly and helpful and was even able to give me information on what time a small local, ethnic store opened. They always greeted us with a smile and wished up well on our way out the door.
The hotel is located right by the military base and the first time a helicopter went overhead I startled. Having said that, things quiet down by ten or eleven and you forget it is even there, don't let that deter you.
White Bluff road is a divided roadway which can make it tricky to get in and out of the hotel. However, being away that there is a second entrance on Abercorn St by the Rooms to Go can head off difficulty. When returning from downtown I recommend coming straight up Abercorn from downtown- it is a central thoroughfare and a good road to become familiar and orient yourself with. You can either turn into the hotel directly off Abercorn by Rooms to Go or go up to the light and come down White Bluff Rd. If you want to go to the mall, I suggest exiting by The Rooms to Go and making a right. To go into downtown, take a right out directly onto White Bluff. Many GPSs will suggest going back out and hitting the by-pass. You can, however, it is a much more scenic drive to head straight down White Bluff which becomes Bull Street and passes right into downtown. At Forsyth Park, a left down Park Street will take you out to MLK BLVD- a right on MLK will lead right down to the visitor's center. Abercorn is also a pretty drive into and out of the historic district from mid town.
All in all, this hotel is well located, well kept, and a nice place to stay for a few days while you enjoy the beauty and hospitality of the south's most beautiful city. We will definitely be back and this hotel will be one of the first I look into for our stay,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookwormwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara A, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Midtown, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Wendy,
Thank you so much for your glowing review. We certainly appreciate your stay with us and that you took the time to review our hotel. We hope that your travels will bring you back to our area soon!
Sincerely,
Barbara Awad
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauk, GA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I normally like the Country Inn and Suites. This place is in bad need of repair. Fridge and Mircrowave did not work in the room. We thought we would stay a couple of nights but left the next morning. Breakfast was ample.

Room Tip: I am not going back to this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara A, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Midtown, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Thomas,
We ae so sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. I was unaware of a room that had a refrigerator and microwave that were not working. I have not had any reports of this matter at the front desk but will definitely remind the housekeeping staff that they are to check all of the appliances at each check out. Thank you for alerting us to this matter. We are always working to improve based upon the suggestions of our guests.
Sincerely,
Barbara Awad
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Charleston, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The location was good, price was right, but it did have some flaws. This place definitely
needs an update and good cleaning as there were many stains. It was somewhat noisy
due to the airport, but it seemed to be quiet at night when sleeping, or we were just plain
exhausted, so we didn't hear it. The breakfast was NOT good, either day we were there.
I was surprised as these Inns usually are top notch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANICE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara A, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Midtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Janice,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are working diligently to correct the concerns that you shared about your room and the breakfast. We are proudly located by Hunter Army Airforce Base and are aware that they conduct training during the day. I am glad that the military base did not disturb you during the night. We hope that you will visit us again if you are in the area, so that we may exceed your expectations.
Sincerely,
Barbara Awad
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel was in a great location. Close walking distance to the river, restaurants and sights. The room was kept clean but the air vent in the bathroom didn't work and the carpet was coming up in spots.
The hotel staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating.
The full breakfast was great serving eggs each day with a different meat and bread. The breakfast waitstaff were wonderful. Especially Brenda, who went out of her way to make our family and 1 year old feel comfortable and welcome. She waited on the little one like he was a king. He was so happy and ate so nicely because he had such wonderful attention from her. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeyface543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara A, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Midtown, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and reviewing our hotel. We appreciate all of your kind comments concerning our hotel. We also will look into your concerns about the carpet and other issues concerning yor stay. We are happy that you enjoyed the breakfast and hope if you are back in the Savannah area, that you will stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Barbara Awad
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Savannah Midtown
Courtyard Savannah Midtown
#72 of 113 in Savannah
346 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Savannah Midtown
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown
#42 of 113 in Savannah
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#81 of 113 in Savannah
153 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Midtown
Quality Inn Midtown
#55 of 113 in Savannah
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Midtown

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Midtown
Address: 7576 White Bluff Rd, Savannah, GA 31406-2435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us spoil you with fresh cookies and complimentary breakfast as well as high-speed Internet access and a team who will welcome you like family. We have 100% non-smoking interior corridors and 61 rooms and suites. At Country Inn and Suites by Carlson Savannah we'll always make you feel right at home. Visit us and see why we'll have you saying, "I love this Country." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Savannah - Midtown
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah - Midtown Hotel Savannah
Savannah Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing