We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended for Downtown Savannah!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #40 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Reviewed September 9, 2009

Pros: Price in conjunction to location (River hotels are high in price, this one is affordable), Cleanliness, Friendly Staff, Great views, Amenities Galore! Within walking distance to River Street and Forsyth Park (couple minutes either way)

Cons: Paid Valet Parking only, Walking required (but Savannah is a walking city - Let me elaborate: You cannot just walk out of the front door and be in the hustle and bustle of Bull Street or River Street, you do have to take some scenic walks)

Review: We have stayed in this hotel twice. The first time we stayed, we stayed in a normal guest room. It was within our price point, and we did not want to spend the hundreds of dollars needed to stay at the one's on the river. We wanted convenience, but did not want to pay absurd prices. The MLK Boulevard is extremely busy at all times of the day, so that might be an issue; however, once in your room, you hear absolutely nothing from the ground floor. The hotel had an extremely spacious bathroom! We had the king sized bed room and it came with a nice addition of a sofa. I like hotel rooms that offer this, as I don't always want to "sit" on the bed. The windows do open a smidgen, so it offers good winter air if you want, but you will hear the traffic

The second time, we stayed in one of their suites. The suite is extremely large. We had a sofa, 2 chairs, wet bar, separate living area from the master bedroom which had standard kind bed with chaise lounge. This offered more freedom plus a balcony. It was higher in price, but we definitely got what we paid for. I don't think we could have received the same level of luxury staying at a hotel on the river. We like to sit outside and chat on the balcony at night, so this offered us a great outdoor get away with the conveniences of home.

There is a bar downstairs that operates at certain hours. There is also a great italian restaurant down the street. Within walking distance, there is endless possibilities. There is a great pool area. Everything is gated, and with valet, the lobby provides excellent security, we have never been accosted or seen any homeless. Parkers (Convenient/Gas store) is right around the corner for Beer or necessities.

The pool area is out in the back within a privacy fence/gate. There is also a courtyard that I have seen many a people sitting and enjoying the courtyard (I have never seen that happen at hotels). The Lounge area near the lobby is great too. They provide comfortable seats and a television. Again, I have seen more than one traveler enjoying this area. There is a basic gym, no frills. There is also an indoor jacuzzi, which is great, but echo's quite a bit!

There is a concierge available, but we have never used that service.

I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guynextdoorfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (816)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

743 - 749 of 816 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2009

We could not get a second night at the Westin Savannah, and most hotels were booked last minute, so we found Courtyard historic dist. My ratings are all based on the $110 rate we got. For the price, the hotel is in a great area, has comfortable beds and is clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet with cooked to order omlets @ $9.95 is a great deal. It is not a resort or fancy hotel, but for the money it is a great deal! We did not go to the pool, so I cannot comment on it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanna9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We're local but needed to stay in the historic district for late night partying after a wedding. The Courtyard was perfect for us. Great location on the edge of the historic district but not in the middle of the hustle & bustle, right across the street from a good late night bar/restaurant, trolleys and the visitor's center and Civic Center. Clean hotel, nice public area, pool, great price, upgraded room to a king suite, comfy bed and pillows. Parking was avail by valet, behind the hotel on the street or in the parking garage next door. The room/suite was very nice with a separate lounge area. We didn't use the restaurant facilities for breakfast but I saw many diners. I also noticed from another hotel guest that the concierge desk wasn't open often and the front desk had limited assistance - just telling the disabled guest that they needed to wait for when the concierge was around.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorejoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

The hotel wasn’t really close to any of the main attractions but for the price, it wasn’t a big deal. If you are about being close to River Street, this is not the hotel for you. For some people the walk back at night might make them uncomfortable, especially after a few drinks, but I didn’t see a problem.

The staff was nice and the rooms were clean, though there was a strange smell when you first walk into the room. I think it may have been due to the air-conditioning unit not being on for a while, but after it ran a while, it was fine. I am always disturbed when the sink is not in the bathroom, but that is a minor detail. The room was comfortable and quiet and I slept very well even though I am a light sleeper usually.

The pool is worth checking out, especially in the early evening when you need a break from walking around in the heat. Very relaxing and quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Binky_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

My brother goes to SCAD so on one of our recent visits we stayed here. The place is very clean, comfortable, and has good amenities for a Courtyard (restaurants w/breakfast, bar set up in the evenings in the sitting area off the lobby, gym, nice outdoor sitting area, concierge). The location is good, not as close to the river as some places so a little more of a walk. This is an expensive hotel for a Courtyard but that's just because it's Savannah. Overall, I thought this was a convenient, clean, and comfortable place to stay in Savannah w/o totally breaking the bank.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nakt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

This hotel is right on the edge of the historic district, a great 'home base' for touring Savannah. Walking distance to the entire downtown historic area. Make sure you check out the back patio near the pool...the Confederate Jasmine is lovely in the spring. There is no permanent restaurant, but a full breakfast buffet is available in the mornings at a reasonable price and there is a bar open in the evening (I didn't try it). The rooms are quiet...I could hear noise coming from other rooms when I was in the hallway, but inside the room was quiet...this is pleasantly surprising. One morning, we slept until 10:00a! The staff is very friendly and helpful. I do a lot of travel for business and have stayed in all kinds of places. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my family and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonesy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

This hotel experience was wonderful. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. The room was very comfortable and clean. Great location, loved all aspects of this hotel!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kymom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Address: 415 W Liberty St, Savannah, GA 31401-3917
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Savannah
#29 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $132 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Courtyard Savannah Historic District
Savannah Marriott
Savannah Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing