We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Valentine's Day celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #41 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Villa Rica, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Valentine's Day celebration”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were happy with our stay here at the Courtyard. The valet that greeted us and helped us with our bags to our room was a very sweet young man. The people working at the front desk always greeted us with a smile and kind words. We stopped at the bar area Friday night to have a cocktail and the young lady, Kristie, was very pleasant and helped keep the atmosphere fun with all the patrons sitting in the area. She also was our waitress the next morning for breakfast and still had the great attitude and smile on her face. The location is on the outer skirts of the historic distric but is close to the welcome ctr and the trolley tours. We easily walked from our hotel back and forth to the riverwalk stopping at places to eat and shop and never felt ill at ease. We stayed on the main streets and enjoyed people watching along the way. The sleeping area of our room was clean and nice but we only had issue with the bathroom. We walked in and found a used washcloth hanging over the shower stall and a used bar of soap on the side of the jacuzzi tub. We do bring lysol and clorox wipes whenever we stay anywhere so we cleaned the tub ourselves because it looked like there was a ring around the tub. But, other than that we were happy with our stay and the room and we will be coming back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIOUXZQ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErinGM, General Manager at Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear SIOUXZQ66,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Courtyard Savannah Historic District during your recent trip to Savannah. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our city and the services from the staff.

I am disappointed to hear about the bathroom cleanliness and have addressed it accordingly with our Executive Housekeeper and team. We will ensure this does not happen again to you or anyone else.

Please come back and visit us again in the near future!

Regards.

Erin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    309
    134
    45
    25
See reviews for
237
260
22
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We picked this hotel because it was the cheapest of the Marriott's in town. It was a great choice. 15-20 minute walk to the river (and restaurants) and because it is on the edge of the historic district it was easy on and off the highway. There is a visitor's center right across the street and a hotel concierge was on duty the entire weekend we were there. The staff were super friendly (or is everyone that way in Savannah?). Our room, which faced the street and was on the top floor, was very quiet. This Courtyard serves free coffee and tea all day which is something that is disappearing in the Courtyard brand.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErinGM, General Manager at Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear JoyceC,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the Courtyard Savannah Historic District.

We at the Courtyard try to emulate the local flavor of the Southern charm that is Savannah. I'm glad you recognize and appreciate that.

We hope to see you again during your next visit to Savannah!

Regards.

Erin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Within seconds of arriving, we were met by a friendly valet who handled everything with ease. Upon entering the hotel we were greeted by numerous staff and had our room key within minutes. Our room was on the 5th floor with a courtyard view. My husband wanted to move to have a street view so he could see the Talmadge Bridge. No problem. Just across the hall. We had a beautiful view of the city lights at night, the bridge, church steeples and even surprise fireworks on Saturday night. It was the perfect view. A few minutes after arriving, there was a knock on the door and a staff member was there to fix a reported(not by us) lamp problem which was handled in short time and in a professional, friendly manner. We left for an afternoon of sightseeing and upon our return we were surprised with a bottle of champagne and a nice card offering apologies for the interruption and wishing us both a Happy Birthday and an early Valentine weekend. Thank you Teriazzo Smith, Chief Engineer!!!!! We found our room to be very clean and comfortable and most of all quiet. We thought we had the whole floor to ourselves. The hotel is located in the middle of the historic district within easy walking to the Visitor Center and the Trolley Tours. We liked the Old Savannah Tour for their all day on and off tour, their price and their costumed characters we met along the way, especially the Gullah Geechee. We liked lunch at Lady and Sons, and light meals at Kayak Kafe and Goose Feathers. Be sure to walk the riverfront for shopping and dining. We liked the pralines at River Street Sweets. Wear comfortable shoes for walking the beautiful cobblestone streets and seeing the 21 squares. Look for the square where Forrest Gump sat, the statue of Johnny Mercer and the Mercer-Williams House from Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil. Travel a short distance to Tybee Island to see the Light House and Fort Pulaski(loved seeing the container ships sail by into port) and be sure to eat at A-J's Dockside Restaurant for great food and a beautiful view of Tybee Inlet. Great sunsets. Savannah and Tybee Island have the friendliest people!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbuddies40plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErinGM, General Manager at Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear travelbuddies40plus,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay at the Savannah Courtyard Historic District. We appreciate the feedback and it is always welcome.

I have shared your thanks to our Chief Engineer, Terlazzo.

We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Courtyard and in our charming city of Savannah!

Please come back to visit us again soon.

Regards.

Erin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel on a recent trip to Florida. It was the most expensive room ($200) and by far the worst on our trip. We were sandwiched between rooms occupied by unsupervised middle schoolers who were attending a weekend function in the city. Called the front desk at 1:30am to ask for help in curbing the rowdy behavior...to no avail. Finally, at 2:30 am the kids 'crashed'. The hotel staff were totally insensitive and uncaring about our experience. I can't understand why a hotel would assign rooms like this...why didn't they group these kids in a wing by themselves? Guess the hotel wasn't going to gamble on having one or two unoccupied rooms...look for another hotel if you want to stay in savannah. They say they're in a historic district but remember...savannah has the largest historic district of any city in the country. The hotel is on the outermost edge of the 'district' and requires a significant drive to the real historic district. The night we stayed there, someone was shot near the front of the hotel...

Room Tip: Stay closer to river street...nicer hotels for similar price.
See more room tips
Green Features: I really didn't notice any...the place is in need of a complete refurbishing and update.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErinGM, General Manager at Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Mike E,

I appreciate you taking the time to send us your feedback. I'm thoroughly disappointed to hear about your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on our service and I'm sorry we failed you.

I have discussed your stay with our leadership team and staff to ensure this lack of service will not be repeated. It's important for all of our guests to have a great stay, and imperative we fix issues the first time if any happen at all.

Savannah is a great location for guests to stay heading to and from Florida. And we appreciate being part of the Historic District with many accessible places to get to all within walking distance.

We hope you'll give us another try when you are traveling in the area. We look forward to making things right for you.

Regards,

Erin Dillon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a great time.

First of all, great price! We didn't think much of it from the online photos, just needed a place to sleep. So we were pleasantly surprised to find the Courtyard looks much better in person. The rooms are great. Nice, clean and modern bathroom ;)

Now, the best thing about this hotel is the location. It's situated at the very edge of the downtown historic district, but everything (in the HD) is easily accessible. A city of squares indeed. If you need info, the visitor center is across the street. If you need a midnight snack, there are a few that open late 5 mins away. A bit further and you will have many more options. The tour buses also stop near the Visitor Center so that's also very convenient for tourists. Oh, another advantage of choosing the Courtyard over other hotels that are right in the middle of it is the noise level. It gets very quiet at night, perfect!

Staff were also very helpful and polite. A+++

The only problems I had with the Courtyard are:
1. Super slow internet. I mean super slow. We visited Charleston before coming here and at the Francis Marion Hotel, I was able to pull 20/20mbps speed. Here, I barely hit 2-3mbps, but in reality, it's much slower than that. Websites take a while to load. Also, there's a 3-device limit/room. You can upgrade the net but at $5/night. Ouch.
2. The breakfast buffet is mediocre. I mean, it's okay with very basic stuff (egg, bacon, sausage etc).

But these are just minor issues and I would still rate this hotel "Excellent". Definitely recommend if you're visiting Savannah anytime soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinhHNguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErinGM, General Manager at Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear LinhHNguyen,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at the Savannah Courtyard. We're happy to hear you enjoy our recently renovated property as much as we do.

We will continue to work to improve our internet speed and breakfast options for our guests. It's important to us to strive for excellence and provide what our guests are looking for.

We hope to see you again during your travels to Savannah.

Regards.

Erin Dillon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

This is a nice Courtyard Marriott right in the historic district, parking is available, right on the street for free. We had the continental breakfast it was good, they have a nice lounge and bar service downstairs. We receive a room upgrade because of my status, and ended up with a very nice king suite. No complaints about this hotel, can't wait to come back on our next trip to Savannah.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank canuktrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErinGM, General Manager at Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear canuktrekker,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our property. It's always nice to hear positive comments about our guests' stay.

We love our property and Savannah alike. We're thrilled that you like it as much.

We hope to see you again should your travels bring you to the Savannah area.

Regards.

Erin Dillon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here only one night. The staff was phenomenal. Helpful and accommodating in every way. We were a little put off by the parking fee ($15), but found that all the hotels in the historic district do the same. It is worth the price to know your vehicle is safe for the night. While the room could have stood a bit of a remodel, the bed was one of the most comfy I've slept in hotel wise in years. Check out time was noon, very unusual, but good to know they employ enough staff to turn rooms over quickly

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Allison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerrickGM, General Manager at Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Allison R,
Thank you for your review! Thank you also for the comments about our staff. They do a great job.

Parking in Savannah is limited and can be a challenge and we try to make this one less thing that you have to worry about when you visit us.

Noon check out is the least we can do for our guests. It makes for a nice relaxing morning if you choose to take advantage of it.

Thank you for your time,

Derrick Pair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Property: Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Address: 415 W Liberty St, Savannah, GA 31401-3917
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Savannah
#29 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Courtyard Savannah Historic District
Savannah Marriott
Savannah Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing