We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Savannah Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #42 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
“Savannah Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel is situated across From the Visitors Center and close to scenic bus tours. We like to walk so the few blocks walk to the scenic district and City Walk was pleasurable along the brick sidewalks. The hotel staff were helpful. The room is small but sufficient in all the amenities. Tastefully and newly decorated. This hotel has everything you need when you come to visit Savannah.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 988Jeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    278
    124
    40
    23
See reviews for
215
235
21
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Even though it's on the perimeter of the historic district, everything you would want to see in Savannah is within a walk. The visitor center/museum and tour bus terminal is right across the road and the staff are friendly and helpful with an in-house tour booking service. Valet parking only with a $15/day surcharge. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with vanilla chain-hotel decor. One minor niggle with the plumbing was fixed promptly and efficiently. There are a wide choice of nice places to eat within a short walk. Breakfast is an extra cost option and from what we saw, isn't worth it. Take a walk, work up an appetite and enjoy a real breakfast at Clarys on Abercorn Street. .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tedstravelblogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerrickGM, General Manager at Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review for our property! Thank you also for the kind words about our staff and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel was really nice especially being a Courtyard. It was clean and conveniently located close to the historic district. The only thing I would advise if that you cannot walk stairs request to stay in the hotel and not the cottages. There was no elevator and my sister had problems walking up stairs. I ended up have to carry all our bags up and down! The staff was nice and welcoming. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T1158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The location of the hotel is good. It was easy to find and access from SAV airport. It is a 10 minute walk from the Courtyard to Wright Square and about a 15 minute walk to City Market /Ellis Square. There are also 2 DOT Shuttle stops within a half block of the hotel.
The Hotel lobby renovation has been completed and it is very nice. Coffee and ice water were available throughout the day for guests. Another reviewer had stated that there was only one elevator. There are 2 more that perhaps they did not see as they are on the ends of the hallways. The room itself was spacious, nicely decorated and clean. The bathroom floor was probably the only thing that looked like it still needed to be updated (a few cracked tiles ) The bathroom did have a shower head placed high enough for taller people and good water pressure. There was no in -room refridgerator.
While there were no vending machines, there is an area near the front desk where snacks etc. could be purchased.
The patio and pool area are nicely landscaped. In Savannah, making a get away from a slow/nonexistent spring, it was a great place to read and relax. The pool is probably 20 feet x 10 feet with a maximum depth of 4 feet. The kids seemed to enjoy it but the adults who took a dip did not seem to linger in the water that most agreed was cold. The pool area has about 8 chaise lounge chairs and two round tables with 4 chairs each. While that's not a lot, guests seem to keep rotating through the area. I never saw anyone not find a place to sit who was looking for one.
The breakfast buffet was standard fare : yougurt, waffles, eggs, bacon etc. I do have to applaud the breakfast seating area. It was nice with plenty of tables and chairs. No stress trying to find a place to eat.
What really sets this hotel apart,though, is the staff. They were all very friendly and accomodating. The Vallet team was outstanding. We appreciated that we were allowed to park our car in the ramp even though we arrived a few hours before we were able to check in.
Nearby, there is a CVS Pharmacy on the Corner of Wright Square . We also would recommend meals at The Distillery (accross the street), Goose Feathers Cafe and Bakery (near Ellis Squre) and a tour with Savannah Belle Walking Tours. Oh, and if you have a sweet tooth, check out Savannah Candy Kitchen at City Market for wonderful pralines and salt water taffy made on site.
We would absolutely stay here again !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerrickGM, General Manager at Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your review! Yes, the lobby renovation has been completed! It is beautiful and very unique. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and the patio area is one of my favorite places at our hotel. Right now everything is in bloom and the aroma of beautiful blooming flowers emanates from the courtyard.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope to see you again soon.

Derrick Pair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed over the St. Patrick's day weekend, pretty close to everything. Amazing, friendly people make this place one you want to come back to. Rooms were comfortable, coffee in the lobby every morning and someone with a smile wanting to help was very nice. Sit by the lobby bar or by the fireplace after walking miles around town.... definitely enjoyed it

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poohh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed five nights at the hotel. While not a fancy place it was very clean, free wi-fi and a good location for walking downtown or hopping on a trolley tour of the city. What stands out is the staff here. Everyone we encountered was extremely courteous and friendly. Very, very nice folks at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Tennessee
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our group of 43 stayed here two nights. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. The requested "special needs" were met. The staff was very friendly, courteous and attentive. The breakfast was wonderful. There was nothing else one could want on a breakfast menu. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#15 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Property: Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Address: 415 West Liberty Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Savannah
#29 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Courtyard Savannah Historic District
Savannah Marriott
Savannah Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing