We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #42 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Milan, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our group of 43 stayed here two nights. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. The requested "special needs" were met. The staff was very friendly, courteous and attentive. The breakfast was wonderful. There was nothing else one could want on a breakfast menu. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    309
    134
    45
    25
See reviews for
237
260
22
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Overall, this was a good visit. The hotel staff were solid: friendly, helpful, and engaging. The location is on the edges of the historic district, but still within walking distance of the river and *very* close to two of the Dot stops (free historic district bus). The room was, basic, but clean. The bed seemed older, but was comfortable. The couch in the room was a bit hard. The biggest downside is that the hotel only has one elevator and it's used for both guests and as the service elevator. This isn't a problem, but it does mean that at some points during the day it can be slow (and it's already a slow elevator). Even so, this is a quibble, and I have no major complaints about my stay.

BONUS: the hotel is across the street from The Distillery, an amazing brewpub!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from MLK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamiruru
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at the hotel during Christmas 2012 and it was a nice experience for us since it was close enough to walk around town and not have to drive. Breakfast was included. We were given a corner room which had windows in two directions. The bed was comfortable, nice TV and sitting area. The room was good not luxurious but clean and adequate.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamiruru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel is rated a category "5", but having extensive Marriott experience it is NOT a 5, more like a 3, but is ideally located across from the civic center, walking distance to most attactions, very clean and comfortable and yes, we'd stay again. The "5" rating is obviously because of its proximity to the civic center, which is across the street. Parking was $14.00 a day valet with no self parking option. No free breakfast (Courtyards do not usually offer one). But a nice hotel with great folks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saintaugiedoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We purchased our stay with the Marriott Courtyard with Priceline. Beforehand I called Marrott to request two queens beds since I have two children. The first lady that I talked with at Marriott said she could not edit my request. My priceline receipt states for any special request to contact the hotel directly. I called Marriott back again and I talked to another lady and she said she would put that request in my file. When we arrived to check in I was informed that no queeen rooms were available and they said they would discuss with the manager about getting me two rollaway beds. Normally I would I have not had a problem with this but since I called beforehad my exceptions were let down. The first morning we ate breakfast at the hotel and I thought if the prices of the buffett was $9.95 that it would have to be good. Well I was very wrong. My family spent $40 for breakfast and the eggs and fruit was very low supply and the orange juice was very watery. The hotel also cut off our free wifi early and my husband had to go back to the front desk to reactivate it. Our family mostly stay at the hilton chains and will continue to do so in the future based upon this experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudy1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerrickGM, General Manager at Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
First let me thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide feedback.
I am very sorry for the issues that occurred. If we committed to a room with two queen beds, you should have followed through with our commitment. I am sorry that was not the case.

Your breakfast experience should have been much better as well.

Please contact me so we can further discuss and correct this.

Thank you for your time,
Derrick Pair
General Manager
912-790-8287
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the end of February. At the time, they were doing construction on the front lobby (it might be finished by now) and it was loud. I think it would have been nice to have been told that the hotel was undergoing construction when we booked, but nobody told us that.

The rooms are okay, but nothing to write home about. The beds were comfortable enough, but not great. I've stayed in much more comfortable hotel beds than these. The rooms are getting very dated and if you ask me, they should be spending their money on updating the rooms rather than the lobby - after all you just walk through the lobby. I feel as though there are much nicer places to stay in the area.

The cleanliness of the rooms was just ok. I am super picky about cleanliness, so for people who are not super picky, these rooms might be fine. I just really like to have super clean rooms when I'm away, so even just seeing a hair in the bottom of the shower bothers me. Maybe I just need to lighten up a bit. I have to say that the valet parking attendants are super nice and friendly. Although I didn't like how you must use the valet parking, you have no choice. Unless I misunderstood, you cannot just park your car yourself. So everytime you want to go out with your car, you have to call down and wait for them to pull your car around for you. I'd rather just park my own car and then just have easy access to it whenever I need it.

They do offer free coffee in the lobby, which was nice, but not worth having to listen to the sounds of construction.

I probably would not stay at this hotel again. We were there with another couple and we were only staying for two nights. If we were staying for longer than that, I would have probably suggested we switch to a nicer place. The area is beautiful and there were other hotels that looked much better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianna17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

On our way home from a trip to see my in-laws, my husband and I needed a hotel room to stay at. Being a northern girl I always wanted to see and stay in Savannah. This was perfect. We got there pretty late at night, but it was in a district where there were many other hotels right near where were staying.

Let me start with the bad, even though there weren't a whole lot:
1. Not a lot of parking, you either had to street park or use the valet, we opted to use the valet because it was late at night, but you did have to pay additional for that.
2. The area itself is not well lit at night so I did not feel real comfortable going outside, so even though we were close to everything, we decided to drive the next day.
3. The pool was outside, so we were not able to use it.

The positives
1. The staff was so very nice
2. They were prompt on delievering things to our room, like our bags, an extra towels.
3. The bed that we had was very large and extremely comfortable, and after spending all day driving, it was great to have a nice bed to lay down in.
4. Even though there was an event going on, the rooms seemed to be pretty good about keeping excess noise out
5. The internet worked great and was easy to connect to.
6. Close to lots of shopping, and great food!
7. Did not see any major issues with the room and the decor was nice to look at.


We found this hotel as part of a hotwire account so we did not pay full price for the room, but it was great quality for what we paid. If we were back in the area we woul stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Property: Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Address: 415 W Liberty St, Savannah, GA 31401-3917
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Savannah
#29 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Courtyard Savannah Historic District
Savannah Marriott
Savannah Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing