We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Save your money. Neither scary nor entertaining”

Ghosts and Gravestones of Savannah
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.50*
and up
Ghosts and Gravestones of Savannah
Ranked #32 of 141 Tours in Savannah
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Do you believe in ghosts? Savannah, also known as America's Most Haunted City, is home to a spooky Ghosts & Gravestones tour aboard the Trolley of the Doomed! Join us for the ONLY ghost tour in Savannah to take you to the Juliette Gordon Low Birthplace home for a tour of the parlor floor and to learn about some of the paranormal activity in the house. You'll also visit The Perkins & Son's Ships Chandlery. Come aboard if you dare, for an evening excursion through the darker side of America's Most Haunted City.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Save your money. Neither scary nor entertaining”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

A huge disappointment. If you are too tired to walk around Savannah, there are much better tours. Here's what you get: a few corny campfire tales tossed off in a desultory way by an actress who couldn't qualify for the high school musical, plus a short ride around three of Savannah's 22 odd squares, and then the topper: a stop at not one, but two, empty warehouses. Yes, warehouses. No kidding. If that sounds incredibly lame and unimaginative, that's because it is. This tour is so lame that they actually take you to the depot where they park the busses at night, and then they try to instill some terror by recounting a completely bogus account of a triple murder that didn't happen there. The tour ends with a visit to an old warehouse on the waterfront, where an old woman comes out of the darkness and tells some stories. At least she makes an effort to entertain. The whole experience was tedious and unexciting. I've taken ghost tours in Savannah and elsewhere: when they are done right you get a chance to hear a master storyteller enchant the whole audience with his or her fiction. But that's not what you get on this completely bogus overpriced bad tour. Save your money.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Superplex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahTrolleyTours, General Manager at Ghosts and Gravestones of Savannah, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
I am sorry to read that your tour with us did not meet your expectations. I take each of the reviews from Trip Advisor and share them with out CAST. It is only when we hear from our guests that we can improve our tour.

We do have a 100 % money back guarantee on all of our tours and attractions which you can easily access on the customer service area of our website.

With hospitality,

Charles Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    159
    93
    81
    79
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
“Savannah Ghosts & Gravestones Trolley Tour”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our tour guide Evenly "Evlyn" at night was awesome. Great narrator, we screamed and hollered and she even had a youngster in tears. Had a great experience as she told of events and ghost sightings. Thank goodness we did the early evening tour and that was spooky.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jjo30127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very entertaining and well worth taking a tour with them.”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Ana was a real treat and very very very entertaining and so knowledgeable about the dark side of Savannah. We will be back and request her again. Thanks so much.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Guardfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
696 reviews
175 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Don't Do This Tour”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is the first One Star that I have ever posted on Trip Advisor. Our group of 14 did the Ghosts and Gravestones Tour recently. This tour was a waste of time and money. Unfortunately, our friendly young guide, a dramatic arts student at SCAD was not very good. She mumbled into the mike and was difficult to follow and to understand. One of the 2 stops was at a big warehouse with a stage in the corner. I guess that we were supposed to see ghosts? Just weird. Later we stopped in a building that was decorated strangely while another guide told weird stories. Sadly, this tour is operated by Old Town Trolleys who do an excellent job with their daytime touring trollies. And, I am sure that perhaps one of the several companies that do this kind of tour in Savannah must do a good ghost tour. In the company's information they promise that they will refund their outrageous fee for almost any reason. Surprisingly, they did just that...refunded our entire group's ticket price ($45 per couple). Unfortunately, that was the best thing about this attraction. Don't do this tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Radiohutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahTrolleyTours, General Manager at Ghosts and Gravestones of Savannah, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
I was sorry to read our tour did not meet your expectations. We do back all of our tours up with our 100% money back guarantee that you can access by visiting the customer service area of our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the first time, but felt like it was being rushed this time”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We did the day and night trolley tour package. We have done this tour before when we went in the house the TAPS investigated. The guide was dressed in character and it was a great tour. We suggested this tour to our friends this past trip because we have done this one before and enjoyed. We have also done the hearse and walking tours to. Kinda disappointed this time. Our guide Andy was ok and had her moments but felt like she kinda rushed the stories. We did the 9:10pm tour. This time we went into the Gribbel house which looked like basically a warehouse. Nothing to it and very unimpressive. Second stop was a little shop on River street which was a little more interesting. My attention wasn't kept on this tour. Probably go with a walking or hearse tour next time. Price in line with other tours.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nichole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghosts and Gravestones of Savannah also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Ghosts and Gravestones of Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing