We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking tour of Bonaventure Cemetary after dark”

Bonaventure Cemetery Journeys w/ Shannon Scott
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Bonaventure Cemetery Journeys with Shannon Scott
Ranked #6 of 144 Tours in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Tour the South's most illustrious, Victorian Cemetery with 29 year, resident storyteller, Shannon Scott or one of his other premium story hosts! Bonaventure is home to poets, songwriters, actors, artists, industrialists, duelists, Confederates, and every life story under one sunny cemetery! Fans of Secret Societies like The Freemasons won't be disappointed either as Bonaventure is imprinted everywhere with their emblems! See Little Gracie, Johnny Mercer, Conrad Aiken, Noble Jones and more! Fans of "Midnight In The Garden of Good and Evil?" Get close to the characters! Talk about a personal & impacting day out! Inquire about Historic District Hotel Transportation!
Athens
2 reviews
“Walking tour of Bonaventure Cemetary after dark”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Shannon is incredibly knowledgeable about the history of Savannah and personally knew some of its residents and inside stories. This evening tour was a gift to us from Friends we were visiting in Ilse of Hope. I thought it would be a touristy "spooky" tour just for fun. Wow! What a wonderful surprise! Shannon's knowledge,coupled with his wonderful DJ voice made for a very memorable evening. Can't wait to go back again. I recommend his tour as a must do for anyone visiting Savannah that wants to know more about it's history.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    831
    42
    12
    5
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, Maryland
2 reviews
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Anyone visiting Savannah must do the Bonaventure Cemetery tour with Shannon Scott. Shannon's knowledge of the history of Bonaventure and its "residents" is amazing. My husband and I learned so much about the land, statues, tombstones and families buried in the cemetery. The tour lasted approximately 2 1/2 hours and was not hard to walk.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kirby2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Best way to see Bonaventure!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Shannon Scott does an amazing tour (at night!) in this lovely cemetery. I feel bad that our group thought it was going to be a cheesy "ghost tour" type thing, because it was so well done and delivered in a way that really made Savannah and Bonaventure come to life (no pun intended!). Throughout the tour Shannon talks about notable residents and some history of the area. Right now the book "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil" is a hot topic, and he does an excellent job incorporating it into the tour, but not making it feel like thats all you're there for. I was so saddened when Shannon mentioned that the future of Bonaventure could be in peril, it is such a unique gem, but he does his part by asking for donations to help preserve the site for future generations. But more than that, the very fact that his tour isn't cheesy does a lot to inform visitors about how important this site is to protect. Go Shannon!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dustin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Kensington, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My daughter and I did this tour in Feb 2013. It is well worth your time to spend an evening walking through this cemetery and to listen to the stories of the residents. If your thing is history, ghost spotting, enjoying the old tombstones and stories you will not be disappointed. Shannon is knowledgeable and informative. I went as far as to purchase a book discussed during the tour although I have not had a chance to read it yet. I will defiantly go back.

Linda Wygal

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank herbie58lcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SScottTours, Owner at Bonaventure Cemetery Journeys w/ Shannon Scott, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Loved having you both out today for a really beautiful introduction into Bonaventure and of course, getting to initiate you to the city at the same time. Eternal returns!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Insiders view of Bonaventure Cemetary”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

If you are looking for your typical "ghost tour", this is not for you. This Shannon Scott shares an evening of tales about some of the more interesting residents of Bonaventure. These are not tales to spook you, but rather to give you an understanding of who they were while alive and what might be special about their resting place. Enjoy the many magnificent carved monuments on this leisurely two hour stroll- just beware of tree roots in the darkness. A flashlight is highly advisable.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eileen005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SScottTours, Owner at Bonaventure Cemetery Journeys w/ Shannon Scott, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
What a nice surprise to read this today Eileen and thank you. I think I remember you catching that root in the path when you were next to me and sorry about that one! Appreciate you making it known that this isn't a ghost tour either as its easy for people to confuse it for one. Glad you had a good time and hope you'll continue to particpate in my events and other endeavors. Remember there is a Bonaventure Official page on Facebook and my Historic Savannah Tour App is out on the Google Play and Apple Stores. Always trying to make what I do interesting for people as time goes by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonaventure Cemetery Journeys w/ Shannon Scott also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Bonaventure Cemetery Journeys w/ Shannon Scott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing