We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you do anything in Savannah, do this...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bonaventure Cemetery Tours

Bonaventure Cemetery Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Bonaventure Cemetery Tours
Ranked #13 of 141 Tours in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Oscar Wilde called it, "Incomparable." John Berendt gave it to the world in the pages "Midnight In The Garden of Good and Evil." Through 250 years, few cemeteries have touched the hearts & minds of artists and people, as has Bonaventure. Tales that await are Johnny Mercer, Little Gracie, Conrad Aiken, Harry Hervey, and so many others famous & just "every day," that you'll be dizzy with details & images that will keep you coming back for a lifetime! Walking Tours Daily at 10 am & 2pm - Reservations Required! Order over the phone or online.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you do anything in Savannah, do this...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We were given a tour by the phenomenal Shannon Scott. His vast knowledge of Savannah and the incredible individuals that once roamed its beautiful landscape make this tour a must! My best friend and I were amazed by the detailed stories he shared with us. If you think you can have the same experience at Bonaventure without taking this tour, you are sadly mistaken. We agreed that by taking this tour, we were able to more clearly understand Savannah's history. Well worth the money. We will definitely be taking the night tour when we return.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    36
    7
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
331 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Learned a lot but not for those physically challenged”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

My daughter, husband and I took this tour last weekend. We were led around by Shannon, a man who obviously loves his work and sharing his knowledge about the cemetery and those destined to spend eternity there. If we had gone on our own we would have missed out on so much.

This tour is definitely worth it but keep in mind a couple of things before you head out to the cemetery.

This is an 'active' cemetery so there is no gift shop or café where you can buy water (there is one soda machine by the entrance). It can be very hot so make sure you bring enough water with you.

You do a lot of walking. This place is massive and you will be walking for well over 2 hours on surfaces that may present challenges to those who have limited mobility. There are also lots of ants - so sneakers may be a better choice than sandals. I wore sandals and wasn't bother by the ants but by all the sand I got in my shoes.

Bring a camera - lovely shots to be had.

We took a taxi to get out to the cemetery and had a bit of trouble getting one to bring us back (should have brought the brochure with us - they supply a number). We waited close to an hour for the taxi to arrive.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cab514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tour was very informative and factual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

I would definately recommend the early tour due to the heat but it was well worth it. The tour guide was great. He was not into the theatrics and was giving us facts and true stories. Would love to go back and do the tour again next year when the flowers are blooming.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabethg3200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“very long walking tour, but enjoyed tremendously”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

if you love music, literature, stories and history, this is the place for you, this is the tour for you. take a guided long walk in the beautiful peaceful cemetery to take you back in time. i think this maybe the most beautiful cemetery in the States.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Place But a Couple Warnings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful, beautiful place. I highly recommend a tour; just not sure if it's this one. The information around the tour said it was 1.5 hours. It was not; it was 2:15 minimum. Important when it's 95-degrees out or if you have other plans. It also there were places to sit; there was not according to the tour guide. He would not allow us to sit "on his tour". This is important for physically challenged. Shannon was VERY informative, but a bit insensitive since my wife was sporting a cane.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tounderpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonaventure Cemetery Tours also viewed

 

Been to Bonaventure Cemetery Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing