We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Savannah & The Westin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #30 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Loved Savannah & The Westin”
Reviewed October 22, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Westin in Savannah for a little get away. This was the perfect resort for us due to the golf course and spa. We golfed several times .. the course was never overcrowded, even with a tournament one of the days. We didn't encounter any bugs on the course and golfed both early morning and late afternoon. I had a massage at the Spa .. wonderful! Loved the convenience to downtown and the fact that you didn't have to drive if you didn't want to. There was free parking at the Westin. We spent one day going to Tybee Island .. typical beach resort. The sand was smooth and shell free, however, the water looked brown. It was too cold for us to swim. We did see some dolphins both at the beach and in the river behind the resort. We went to dinner one night at Lady and Sons (Paula Deen's restaurant) which was typical southern cooking. The food was good, but felt like a production. You had to stand in line at 8:30 am to make a reservation for that same day or evening. It was fun once, but that was enough for me. I wouldn't go back .. too many other great restaurants. Forsythe Park is at the far end of Savannah, but don't miss it. It's beautiful and the road around the park is lined with old time southern mansions. Loved Savannah and the Westin and plan to return!

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EastCoastGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    588
    241
    122
    69
See reviews for
435
698
57
489
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

This is not the first time we have stayed. 3 years ago it ws nice but the room smelled heavy of smoke. The room renovation was beautiful. Both times we stayed it was for a convention next door at the convention center. I really like to close proximity, especially when working a booth all day!

The ferry over to the historic area can be fun, but patience is needed, it didn't run on schedule at all! If you are out past 12 plan on taking a cab back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandGirl1765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Gretna, PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2009

The Westin is a nice enough property with convenient location to downtown Savannah. No real complaints except for the unpleasant odor that occassionally wafted through the the 12th floor...so strong it even woke me several times during my stay. I guess I would reccommend, the Westing needs to do something about the smell. Consider odor neutralizing HVAC or something!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weserlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

This is the third time in just over two years that I have stayed at this hotel. I stayed there for my honeymoon in September 2007, for a convention in October 2008 and for the same convention last weekend (October 9-11, 2009). The first time was perfect - I guess it is easy to please newlyweds. We had a beautiful room overlooking the river and the historic part of Savannah. When we ate in the restaurant for dinner one night, the waiter recognized that we were on our honeymoon and had a special dessert made with hearts on it. When I came last year with my mother, the only complaint was the banquet staff. They were understaffed and somewhat unprofessional at all of the meals we had. This year they made up for it. The meals were great and they had enough staff. They were much more polite and helpful. Each time I have stayed at the hotel, the bellhops and reception staff were more than polite. The rooms have been updated since my last visit, with large flat screen TVs and new furniture. The only complaint this time was that the door was not fully closed after our room was cleaned on Saturday. Thankfully nothing was taken but it was certainly cause for alarm. My husband played golf on Saturday and said that the course is in great shape. Remember to bring your bug spray though, as the mosquitoes are bad on the course.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

checked in for 2 nights for a business conference. smooth check-in, spotless hotel, nice staff, very good food, multiple restaurant/bar on site plus multi screen movie theater located down a long hallway. The staff must be proud of this hotel as I noticed nothing but top notch service, cleanliness etc. As a very frequent traveler this was a pleasant surprise. The suite I was in was top notch too. Not quite 5 star facility but 4.5
you would need to rent a car to the city or cab it, too far to walk from the hotel location.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imreading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
griffin
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2009

I loved the free ferry rides across the river. They ran up until midnight and gave your feet a rest if only for ten minutes! The people were nice. Some shops were without air, but nice breeze blowing,or it was raining. My stay was at the Westin resort. It is a beautiful hotel. I liked how the pool overlooked the river. Every room has such a nice view.

Helpful?
Thank GriffinCatlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

This was the second time my husband and I stayed at this hotel. We enjoyed everything! We ate several times at midnight sun ( the casual lounge). Food was always great and service very good. We also enjoyed breakfast at Aqua star westaurant. (We didn't come late enought for the brunch buffet, but it looked amazing! I am a starwood platinum guest, and they were able to upgrade us at no charge. We had free s'mores Saturday night at the fire pit as part of their "Westin Relax" program. The room was comfortable, and we had a wonderful balcony overlooking the Savannah river. Our dogs were welcomed. The managers took time to "meet and greet" the dogs. Of course, we had to pay a dog fee, but is was comperable to what we would have paid for the kennel. We will definitely go back! -MJ

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJ-Charleston-SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,044 reviews
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
1,267 reviews
Downtown
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#32 of 113 in Savannah
2,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Resort Dr, Savannah, GA 31421-7000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Savannah
#10 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#12 Family Hotel in Savannah
#18 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#18 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern charm meets modern luxury at the Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, in the heart of the historic Savannah River District. Savannah's premier resort is the prime location; not far from fantastic shopping and nightlife, but removed just enough for tranquility. Enjoy complimentary water ferry service to River Street, renovated guest rooms, meeting rooms and public spaces. The Resort is adjacent to International Trade and Convention Center, 20 min from the airport, 90-second ferry ride to River Street. Be well. Be Westin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort And Spa
Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Hotel Savannah
Westin Savannah Harbor Hotel
Westin Savannah Harbor Resort
Savannah Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing