We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of Expensive Extras...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #31 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Beware of Expensive Extras...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I felt that there were many instances of "nickel and diming"us at this hotel. To give some examples:

A lot of these services should be free or at least reduced in price:
1. Using the business center. We had to print out some tickets so we used the computer and printer at the business center. It was $5.95 for every 15 minutes at the computer and it cost to print. For the prices we paid, this service should absolutely be free.
2. Valet parking. The parking lot is a bit of a walk from the hotel and you will most likely to driving to get anywhere, as there is nothing else on the island. It cost $23 a night to valet park.
3. Use of the cabanas. The cabanas at the pool cost $125 per day to rent, I have never seen it this high before.
4. Continental Breakfast. The continental was exactly what you would get for free at a lower end hotel, except that you pay $14.99 for it.
5. “Resort Fee”. A $20/night “resort fee” was added to the room every night; there is no explanation as to why.
6. Expensive in-room movies. We wanted to watch a movie one night until we noticed the one we selected would be $17.99 to watch! We found out that you can buy it online for $14.


Location:
1. The hotel is located across the river from Savannah. If you want to do anything, you will either have to drive across the bridge or take the free ferry. It was a hassle to have to do this every time we wanted to go somewhere and it would have been nice to be on the other side.
2. The fitness center and spa are a 5 minute shuttle ride away.

Other
1. They played the music quite loudly in the pool area. One day it was country, the next it was the Lion King Soundtrack? Either way it wasn’t relaxing to hear it.
2. The rooms and bathrooms were small compared with other hotels of a similar price range.
3. The staff wasn’t very friendly. They were not rude, but they didn’t go out of their way to be polite, like I have seen at other hotels. The housekeepers and breakfast waiters were much friendlier than other staff members.

I will say that the grounds and pool area were beautifully done. However, from what I could see, there were a lot of nice hotels in Savannah and we will definitely stay at another one when we return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDave, David Moses, Public Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Sarah,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. Thank you for your comments about the pricing and service issues you encountered during your stay. Please feel free to contact me at david.moses@westin.com so I can investigate this further, as I would appreciate the chance to prevent similar events from occurring.

If you have any further questions or comments, please let me know.

Sincerely,

David Moses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    568
    229
    118
    63
See reviews for
420
666
55
471
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (676)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lee, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was so impressed by the staff, cleanliness of the hotel, location, and overall property, that I'm writing this review immediately after check out.
We just left the Savannah Westin and from check in on Friday to checkout a few minutes ago, it was fantastic. The rooms have great views...we faced the river and downtown. They are nice sized and incredibly clean. The common areas are tastefully done. Not overdone. Everyone on the staff was so helpful. We needed at late checkout and there were no questions asked. When I asked if the same courtesy could be extended to our friends that we traveled with...once agin there was no question asked! The pool area is a great place to unwind after touring Savannah. We loved the fact that this hotel is located just across the river from downtown. A complimentary ferry runs every half hour and is very convenient. It docks just next to the hotel. In the evening we had nightcaps near the pool area where tables and fire pits are set up. As a SPG long time member I've stayed in countless Westins across the country. For it's service and friendly staff and overall hospitality the Savannah Harbor Westin ranks among the top 3. A great weekend trip was made even better by staying here.

Room Tip: Face the river!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDave, Public Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments and for choosing The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. I am happy you were impressed with the cleanliness, location and amenities of our property. The Escape pool and views facing the Savannah River are spectacular features and I am elated that you enjoyed them. As a discerning and well-traveled Starwood Preferred Guest, your thoughtful praises are greatly appreciated. We strive to make every guest experience so positive and memorable. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back when you next return to Savannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was extremely clean and modern. The bed rivaled my bed at home. In fact everything about the room was perfect. There is a free ferry to take you across the pond to the restaurants and shopping. We were less than impressed with the recommendations of the concierge for restaurants. I think they were more concerned with pointing us in the direction of something close instead of something good. Perhaps, we didnt clarify that we were willing to drive. However, the loaner umbrellas came in handy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelloverAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDave, Public Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments and for choosing The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. I am happy you were impressed with the cleanliness and modern aesthetics of our property. The Heavenly Bed is a cornerstone of our commitment to providing the utmost in comfort and I am please you found it comfortable. I appreciate your feedback in regard to our dining recommendations and have addressed the issue with our staff to for similar circumstances. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back when you return to Savannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Generally this hotel offers what you would expect from a hotel of its type. Bellmen, concierge, decently appointed rooms, room service, etc. For the most part, staff are courteous and helpful. I had one of the best waiters I've ever had in the restaurant but also had a somewhat discourteous waitress in the bar.

The location is great because of the view of the city and river, but keep in mind that you will have to cross the river to get into the city. This is generally easy via the ferry, but you cannot just cross over on your time. The ferry runs every 30 minutes.

Warning for beer lovers: the bar only has a pathetic collection of ordinary beer. I expect much more from a resort property. They have one local beer on draft, but the apparatus was not working the entire four days I was there and no one seemed to care.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidTravelerGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDave, David Moses, Public Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments and for choosing The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. We strive for consistently exceptional service and I have shared your feedback with our managers to ensure more positive encounters in the future. I also shared your thoughts in regard to our beverage service and selection. We hope to welcome you back when you next return to Savannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Westin has a great location across the river from River Street. Riding the water taxi back and forth was enjoyable and not a hassle at all. The lobby is very nice as is the outdoor area on the river. Our room was nice enough, but I expected more from a Westin. We are Marriott Rewards members and usually stay at Marriott properties but really liked the location of this hotel so we went with it instead of a Marriott. The room seemed like parts of it had been updated, but not all of it (toilet seat cover was yellowed from age, closet doors needed to be replaced). The bathroom ammenties were cheap. We were told our room had a "golf view." If you squinted in the distance you could see the golf course, but what you really saw was the roof of the hotel.

The most disappointing part was houskeeping. When we arrived, a laundry bag was in the hallway by our door. The next afternoon, the laundry bag was still there. We tried to take the stairs one afternoon and there was a pillow in the middle of the stairway. We left one morning around 9:30 a.m. and came back at 5:00 p.m and our room still hadn't been cleaned. One of the other days we were running late so we didn't put the ironing board and iron away when we left. When we came back, the room had been cleaned but the iron and ironing board had been left out.

All in all, I expected the Westin to be comparable to a JW Marriott, and I was disappointed. I would stay here again because the location was so nice, but they could make some improvements to improve the guest experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alesiab66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDave, David Moses, Public Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments and for choosing The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. It is our constant endeavor to provide stellar guest experiences and we apologize that our team did not exceed your expectations. I have shared your comments with our management team and we will use your feedback to make corrective adjustments for the future. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back and restore your confidence in our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa was one of the finest hotels I've stayed at. From the time I entered the lobby and was greeted by staff I knew they would take exceptional care of me. I would highly recommend this hotel for your stay in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaribbeanTraveler110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDave, Public Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments and for choosing The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. I am happy you were able to experience the exceptional service we strive for. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back should you return to Savannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustine, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Loved the westin location. The water taxi runs every 10 or 20 minutes to drop you right at the middle of River Street, which is a great place to start shopping, eating, and drinking your way around the historic district. We had a glitch with our in room safe and had to ask for help. The office sent up Steve Rankin, of the security dept, who was prompt, helpful, courteous, and most helpful. He is a great representative for the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaC40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDave, Public Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments and for choosing The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. We also believe the ferry is a wonderful feature and a stellar way to arrive at River Street. We greatly appreciate your compliments of Mr. Rankin. He is an asset to our company and we are proud to have him on our team. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back should you return to Savannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#11 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Resort Dr, Savannah, GA 31421-7000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Savannah
#11 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#12 Family Hotel in Savannah
#18 Business Hotel in Savannah
#18 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern charm meets modern luxury at the Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, in the heart of the historic Savannah River District. Savannah's premier resort is the prime location; not far from fantastic shopping and nightlife, but removed just enough for tranquility. Enjoy complimentary water ferry service to River Street, renovated guest rooms, meeting rooms and public spaces. The Resort is adjacent to International Trade and Convention Center, 20 min from the airport, 90-second ferry ride to River Street. Be well. Be Westin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Hotel Savannah
Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort And Spa
Westin Savannah Harbor Hotel
Westin Savannah Harbor Resort
Savannah Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing