We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, inconvenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #28 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, inconvenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Let me start by saying the hotel itself is very beautiful, with lovely views of the city from the riverfront facing rooms. The staff are friendly and helpful. There appears to be a genuine commitment to customer service. But I would not recommend staying in this hotel if you are in Savannah primarily to tour the city. (We were there because my husband had a meeting at the hotel). They are located across the river from Savannah's historic district. You have to take a ferry to get into the downtown. Although the ferrys are free and run every half hour, it was inconvenient to not be able to walk out he door whenever and be in the city itself. There aren't many dining options in the hotel itself and none that I could see outside the hotel on the island. So unless you need to be there for a meeting or to play golf, a mainland hotel or B&B would be a better choice.

Room Tip: The higher floor, riverfront rooms have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shir Hayam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSav, Mark Spadoni, General Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit with us, and appreciate your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    560
    222
    114
    54
See reviews for
406
655
53
456
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee,Fl
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a lovely property. We stayed in December, so the Christmas decorations were up. They were well done and included a gingerbread house contest with all entries displayed and the winners noted. The grounds were well groomed and even at night they were pretty. The room was nice and the bed was very comfortable. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSav, Mark Spadoni, General Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you were able to enjoy the holiday season with us. We hope you will visit again and allow us the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

No problems- watch the ships pass by, the ferry scuttles too and fro. The scene is spectacular. Savanna laid out across the river.
The manager must tear his or her hair out working for corprate where some great artsy fartsy publicist is in charge of the lunch which depicts a beautiful sandwidge on the corporate printed very special page. This same sandwidge is probably unavailable in all Westins. If the same thinking applies to the corporation, they must have infinite respect for those who use the restaurant - "let's educate our guests. This is a sandwidge . We don't make them like this but thought you might be interested in what a sandwidge looks like" - then we can expect nonsense all round. Maybe Westin only employ one idiot.
The salad dressing was distinctly uninspiring. Other restaurants I have visited in Savannah seem to love grease or oil - will update . Not a culinary epicenter so far.

Room Tip: View of the city - this means the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffthebeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSav, Mark Spadoni, General Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your comments. I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed our location and beautiful view of Savannah. We appreciate your feedback regarding our menus and will use it towards making improvments in this area. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back should travels bring you back to Savannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
277 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I had the opportunity to play golf during a recent trip to Savannah. First of all, the city is absolutely beautiful and a great place to spend a few days or a week, exploring the south and all of its historical charm.

I played golf with a small group of friends at the Westin Harbor Golf Resort in early April. The course was about three weeks away from holding their annual Senior PGA event. The conditions were fantastic and a great time was had by all. The course played great if you kept the ball straight. There are plenty of sand traps and some water to worry about. The back nine is particularly scenic as a few holes are along the river.

There is hole - Alligator Alley (#14) that had about thirty small alligators in and around the reeds. I never saw the mama but she had to be somewhere. We did come across a few larger alligators, so its best to heed the advice and not go looking too far for your ball.

Not a negative on the course but more of a recommendation, in the evening, you better bring some bug spray as the mosquitos are out in full force.

I would highly recommend this course to anyone in and around Savannah.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSav, Mark Spadoni, General Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and had the opportunity to play on our course. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Savannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Can't say enough good things about this establishment. You come to expect certain things from a Westin resort, and Westin Savannah not only lived up to these expectations, it far exceeded them. The grounds were beautiful and kept immaculately clean. Each member of the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and we would clearly recommend to anyone staying in Savannah (who doesn't mind being a very short ferry ride away from the historic district, that is). Special thank you to Collin who took the time to make sure that everything was great during our stay. Bravo!
-Mark and Blair

Room Tip: Be nice!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSav, Mark Spadoni, General Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit with us, and appreciate yourcompliments about Collin. He is an asset to our company and we are proud to have him on our team. We hope to see you again when travels bring you back this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We were at the Westin for a 2 day board meeting for about 20 people. Overall the hotel, location, water taxi, restaurant, etc. were great but I do have a somewhat negative review of the banquet & meeting services. I hold these types of meetings every other month or so, and have seen some excellent service in the past. This time was the exception as we were treated almost disrespectfully by the banquet staff coming in to set up for weddings (after both meeting days, Friday and Saturday.) our meetings ended an hour + early each day and we were rushed out of the room by the changeover staff. The head banquet/meetings captain was often unavailable too. Especially on Saturday. I know weddings bring in more money for the hotel, but we were customers too. One more positive thing: the AV service was exceptional!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSav, Mark Spadoni, General Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I apologize for the circumstances surrounding your recent stay with us from our staff. I have shared your information with our Directors to use for corrective actions and to ensure this does not happen again. It is our hopes that you will visit again in the future and see a marked improvement in this area. We truly would like the opportunity to properly serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

You can't beat the views or location for the Westin Savannah Harbor Resort! Relax on a remote island, away from the hustle bustle of downtown Savannah, but when you want to join the mix, just hop on the Water Ferry and you're there! Order a "spicy" Bloody Mary at the Escape Poolside Bar and follow it up with a Cheeseburger! I was very impressed! Just don't be a huge hurry - it took over 45 minutes for the sandwiches to arrive. Oh well, just order another Bloody Mary and enjoy the view! Prices are pretty much typical hotel pricing...($12.50 per Bloody - ouch!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ESP8_CHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSav, Mark Spadoni, General Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent visit with us. I appreciate your feedback surrounding our pool bar and grill and have shared your information with our Director of Food and Beverage to use for making improvements. We hope to see you again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#10 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#16 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Resort Dr, Savannah, GA 31421-7000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Savannah
#9 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#12 Family Hotel in Savannah
#18 Business Hotel in Savannah
#18 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern charm meets modern luxury at the Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, in the heart of the historic Savannah River District. Savannah's premier resort is the prime location; not far from fantastic shopping and nightlife, but removed just enough for tranquility. Enjoy complimentary water ferry service to River Street, renovated guest rooms, meeting rooms and public spaces. The Resort is adjacent to International Trade and Convention Center, 20 min from the airport, 90-second ferry ride to River Street. Be well. Be Westin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Hotel Savannah
Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort And Spa
Westin Savannah Harbor Hotel
Westin Savannah Harbor Resort
Savannah Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing