We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A display of the art of the students ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of SCAD Museum of Art

SCAD Museum of Art
Ranked #48 of 210 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The SCAD Museum of Art was founded in 2002 as part of the Savannah College of Art and Design in Savannah, Georgia. The museum's collection of more than 4,500 pieces includes works of haute couture, drawings, painting, sculpture, photography, prints and more. The SCAD Museum of Art is a teaching museum, serving Savannah College of Art and Design students and as well as members of the community and other visitors. A focal point is the Walter O. Evans Center for African American Studies, a multidisciplinary center for the study, understanding and appreciation of African American culture, art and literature. It is complemented by the André Leon Talley Gallery, named for the Vogue contributing editor and SCAD Board of Trustees member.The museum also features a 250-seat theater, a terrace and outdoor projection screen, a conservation studio, a museum café, as well as a 12-foot-long orientation touch table. An 86-foot tall steel and glass lantern welcomes visitors and elegantly redefines the Savannah city skyline.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A display of the art of the students ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

A place to see some of the work of our aspiring artists. Some great, some not so much!

Helpful?
Thank lowcountryblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    37
    12
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“interesting building, interesting art, very helpful information from student guards/guides”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Near the visitor center. Watch for specific exhibits as the art changes periodically. The students who watch over the art are welcoming and happy to share information about the art...or will let you alone if you prefer.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitneywh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely building, not many exhibits”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

I attended SCAD and hadn't been back to Savannah in several years. I made sure to check out this museum and although the space really is fantastic (very modern structure building within/around an aging brick structure that had been very unsightly before) the exhibits were so-so. The fashion section was neat; I've never seen gowns the celebs have worn. I liked the fact there were a few classic oil paintings from the 1700 - 1800s but wish there had been a few more. The Kehinde Wiley exhibit showed skill for sure, but the style I could live without. The video installation "The Crossing" just seemed like a waste of space, honestly. It was interesting for about 30 seconds. The Liza Lou exhibits will millions of glass beads were neat to look at but just showed if you have a huge team of people they can create intricate artworks, but no real talent seemed to be displayed in this pieces.

I did like the interactive table in the main lobby. I like that SCAD alumni get a discount. We were in and out in about an hour I'd say. The employees seemed to really enjoy working there and were helpful.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank whitneywh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very cosmopolitan.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

The building itself is art worth seeing. Don't miss it tucked away just north of MLK, where you're less likely to wander. Get a map and go.

Helpful?
Thank localsavannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing new art museum and grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

I brought my twin boys (age 9) to the opening day of this museum. We have been anticipating this for quite sometime now, marking the progress of the renovation of old, historic structures with modern ones this past year. What an incredible place! The space is outstanding for displaying artwork, the grounds are beautifully designed with sensitivity to century old remnants. Parking was not a problem, and there is also the visitor public parking lot just next door if a street space is not available. The exhibits were fantastic and easy to view and admire. The staff was knowledgeable and helpful and really seemed to enjoy their job. We spent two hours, even revisiting several of the exhibits for a second time. You do not want to miss this, even if you are not a typical visitor of art museums.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Georigiateacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SCAD Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to SCAD Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing