We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our new favorite in Savannah”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brasserie 529 - CLOSED

Brasserie 529
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Price St. & E. Broad St.
Description: Brasserie 529 located at 529 East Liberty Street. We have a twenty car parking lot, so you don't have to worry about parking downtown! We seat 45 people in the main dining room, 8 at the bar and 30 out on the patio. Brasserie 529 is a family owned restaurant and we make everything from pates, sausages, breads and desserts in house. Brasserie 529 also buys from local farmers!
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our new favorite in Savannah”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We don't usually write reviews, but must spread the word about Brasserie 529! Loved our meal tonight: the Duck corn chowder was rich and perfectly prepared. Warm baguettes with truffle butter--try not to get carried away as you will be too full to enjoy the entree. We had the Delmonico steak and duck over collards, both excellent choices, followed by lavender creme brûlée and espresso. Can't wait to return for the skate, which we loved at a little restaurant in Ile St. Louis! Thank you for the best meal we've had all year, on our 38th anniversary!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nihoncrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    20
    7
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah
Level Contributor
101 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Brasserie 529 The Good and the Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I am a big fan of good French food and have dined at French restaurants all over the country. A large group of us decided to try this restaurant one evening and because of the pleasant temperature we elected to sit outside. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and seated right away at a table on the patio. The waiter arrived promptly and took our drink order. Several of us ordered a drink that required Cointreu and the waiter returned and stated they didn't have any, a surprise in a restaurant of this caliber. We then ordered appetizers. I had the Escargot and while it wasn't bad there was just no wow factor. We then ordered The Delmonico Steak and while we all agreed not bad, just average. The most disappointing part of the meal were the after dinner coffees. The served them in such small cups the coffee was cold. I believe $200.00 dollars for two with tip could have bought a better dinner elsewhere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Savannahone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We have lived in Savannah for many years and have been to a number of very good restaurants (and some not so good). Brasserie 529 is probably the best so far. If you like French food this is the place to go. The ambiance, service, presentation and quality of the food were all without fault. Our server, Amy, did an excellent job. This is about as good as it gets.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank william n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very sad 25th anniversary ruined”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

I made reservations through open table 3 weeks in advance. My wife and I would celebrate our 25th anniversary here. We have gone through a rough year dealing with cancer 4 surgeries and all the medical bills. We planned this carefully but brasserie 529 called us on the day itself to cancel because they had a larger party that needed our table. When I explained the gentlemen responded "I don't care" since it is a wine and food festival in savannah we can not find another restaurant.i think this is very wrong.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thierry v v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Brasserie 529 has been one of our favorite Savannah restaurants since it opened several years ago. We went there last night to celebrate my wife's birthday. We started chatting with a couple at a neighboring table, and they strongly recommended trying the chef's five course tasting menu. We said, "why not", and decided to do the wine pairing as well. It was fantastic from beginning to end. Each of the courses was beautifully presented and prepared. Food portions were perfect...just the right size to allow us to eat all of everything. My favorite course was the last meat course. It was a rack of lamb with lyonnaise potatoes and an excellent succotash. The meat was cooked perfectly, and the sauce was fantastic. The chef is a superb saucier. The wine pairing was a great deal...a great selection at a price less than sharing a nice bottle. Service was excellent, and the chef came by several times to make sure we were enjoying his creations. There is no need to have the five course meal to thoroughly enjoy this restaurant, but we were very glad we did.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie 529 also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing