We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“definitely worth coming back for dinner”
Review of Brasserie 529 - CLOSED

Brasserie 529
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Price St. & E. Broad St.
Description: Brasserie 529 located at 529 East Liberty Street. We have a twenty car parking lot, so you don't have to worry about parking downtown! We seat 45 people in the main dining room, 8 at the bar and 30 out on the patio. Brasserie 529 is a family owned restaurant and we make everything from pates, sausages, breads and desserts in house. Brasserie 529 also buys from local farmers!
Savannah, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“definitely worth coming back for dinner”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I visited the Brasserie for lunch today. It was outstanding - we had sweetbreads, omlette, and steak tartare. The wine was excellent and the service even better.Everything was perfectly cooked and served. The surroundings might make you think you were in France but without the attitude! We will be back for dinner!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmericanParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    20
    7
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi, USA
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“50th birthday celebration”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

College girlfriends get together for our 50th birthday. Beautiful restaurant, fabulous service! Filet was perfectly cooked and delicious. Scallops were also delicious. Highly recommend restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mimi0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous Lunch with the Girls”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Found a new treasure in Savannah! The weather was beautiful , so we decided to eat outside. Upon entering , we were met by a smiling hostess as well as the gracious owner. China, our waitress was # 1. She was happy and always smiling ---she handled our many questions with patience and was very knowledgeable. You would have thought that we were her only customers for all of the attention that we received. The food was delicious------I had the mushroom omelette with argula salad and the secret dressing recipe was very light and tasty. For dessert , I had Crème Brulee' with lavender ---it was excellent!
Will definitely return with my husband for dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TybeeSunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had an amazing time at Brasserie 529. The French trained chef really went above and beyond. My steak was cooked to perfection, finally someone knows how to cook a steak in Savannah. Very nice wine selection, and awesome staff.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank StevenC113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannah
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A French Oasis in the Garden of Good and Evil”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Say Savannah, say Food, and most people think Paula Deen. Think again. This bastion of all things fried has a bright alternative to beans, greens and chicken: Brasserie 529. It's off the beaten track, it's off the radar screen of local foodies, and on an off day you may be surprised to find you're practically all alone in this quaint spot-- and all the better. Two days I ago I met two friends for lunch and we stayed 4 hours, leaving it to our most capable waitress to bring us whatever the chef wanted us to have: escargot, frog legs, chicken cordon bleu, scallop-- all of it perfectly finished, all of it by the book, and all of it was eaten with gusto. A bistro like this has no business being where it is and what it is in Savannah, but as someone who eats out at least once a day, I am thrilled that Brasserie puts France on our local food map.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie 529 also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing