We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pigeon Island”

Moon River Kayak Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Let us show you one of the most beautiful areas to paddle in the Savannah area. No experience - No problem. We paddle in the protected waters surrounding the Skidaway Island State Park. Bald Eagles, Ospreys, Dolphins, Egrets and Pelicans are seen often during these guided tours. Give us a call, we promise you won't be disappointed.
Floral City, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pigeon Island”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were visiting Savannah from Orlando and found this company through Savannah's tourism site. Although I originally tried to contact them via email and didn't get a response, once I called them, we had our tour booked immediately. Originally we were scheduled to go to Skidaway, but our tour group grew a little too large the day before the trip, so instead our guides took us around Pigeon Island. We were able to get out on the beach for a little while and stretch our legs while playing with the Fiddler Crabs scurrying along the beach. Along the trip we saw quite a few birds as well as a smallish gator (who luckily stayed far away from our group). Our guides were very knowledgeable and answered any questions the group had along the way.

I highly recommended taking a tour with this company. You won't regret it! We're looking forward to our next trip to the area so we can go on another kayak adventure with this group.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeinsavannah, Owner at Moon River Kayak Tours, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Glad you enjoyed the trip, sorry about the email...our email has been wonky...if anyone emails us and doesn't get a response, please give us a call... Hope to see you again on another trip. Thanks for paddling with us and especially thank you for writing a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    0
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Kayaking at Skidaway”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We took a 2 1/2 hour tour last week with Karen. She was very knowledgable about the area, and good to have as a guide. she was kind enough to provide us with some waterproof pants and jackets as is was rather cool and windy that day. we are all experienced kayakers, but it was great to have a guide to help us take advantage of the tidal changes.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank paxvobiscum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Brisk Paddle”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We had a great paddle through the marshes today, with two very knowledgeable guides, Karen and Philip. It was a family trip with six of us and it was a nice experience from start to finish. The guides were ready for our arrival and had the some extra gear (a dry suit pant and jacket) which was great because of the cool weather! After a quick rundown we were paddling down the river and into the marshes. We saw some wildlife, mostly birds, and a couple of us caught the view of a buck back in the marsh.

All in all we had a wonderful trip and had terrific guides.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamassee, SC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a great day on the water!”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Started out getting a tip from our Hotel about this place, and my wife just HAD to go on one of their tours. So we decided to take one of their 2 1/2 hour tours with a lady by the name of Luarel as our guide. She was THE BEST guide you could ever ask for. She was telling us all about the wildlife, the trees, and different places she had been (she did say that most times they get to see dolphins, but we must have missed them for the day). Man what a great day Kayaking! The tour borders along Georgia park service, so there is not much around. Nothing to be worried about though, the area is really nice and clean. To get there from Savannah you drive a super nice 4 lane about 15 minutes, then about 3 miles down a two lane to the landing. The landing had other folks boating, so there was activity pretty much the whole time we were there, which made us feel safe to leave our car and belongings there at the landing.

Beautiful waterways, supper nice guides (got to meet other guides that were also doing tours too) and a great time. 10 out of 10 for sure!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Super10brss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moon River Kayak Tours also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Moon River Kayak Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing