We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place for Romantic Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Circa 1875

Circa 1875
Reserve with OpenTable
Circa 1875 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 858 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: French, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Broughton
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Place for Romantic Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

They seated us at the bar while we waited for our table, which wasn't a long wait. The bar is crowded but very unique. They have dividers with glass and wooden walls to allow couples to have a private meal. We were seated downstairs in a very cool space, sort of wine cellar-esque. Our server was in the weeds most of the night but seemed to manage it pretty well. Escargot was good but very rich. Really enjoyed the fois gras with blueberry demi and brioche. The table bread is fantastic as well. Bread quality is generally a good predictor of the overall food in my experience, and they delivered. I got the steak frites and opted for the truffle fries, which i highly recommend. The only things missing was a solid aioli to go along with it. Overall it was a great experience and I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aureliusjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    167
    41
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Spot near Market Square”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Enjoyed everything about Circa 1875 except the entrees...veal special was tough and flounder special pretty much tasteless. But the mussels appetizer was really good and martini cocktails were well made and generous portions. Deserts, creme brulee and crepes suzette were delightful. Would recommend requesting a table in the Wine Cellar unless crowded, noisy dining is appreciated in main room upstairs. Our server, Micheael, was very attentive and pleasant throughout the meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SavannahBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
218 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a delicious meal at Circa 1875. The food was almost overshadowed by the beautiful building! We were seated in the lower level and it was a very cozy and gothic looking room. Their drinks are great too, we've been making ourselves Adult Arnold Palmers ever since!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAK314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“French dining in Savannah”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We selected Circa 1875 for our 10th Anniversary dinner in memory of our honeymoon in Paris! Nice intimate spot with excellent food and service. Wait staff was always there when you needed something, but did not hover. We started with the frisée salad (I highly recommend), and it was large enough to share. My husband loved the onion soup. The trout rated as one of the top fish dishes I have had and the duck was very hearty and flavorful. We were too full for dessert...the portions are large. Somewhat pricey, but worth the money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TarheelPirateCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, atmosphere and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I love dining at Circa 1875 when we are in Savannah! Our nephew, Patrick Bullard, is the GM and his fiancée, Katrina Schmidt-Rinke, is the hostess. However, I am not being biased in my review. The lamb shank with spaghetti squash and Swiss chard was incredible and the Crème brûlée was heavenly! Our server was very attentive and courteous and we really enjoyed dining in front of the beautiful stained glass window downstairs. The atmosphere and the whole building is very lovely and historic. The bar is wonderful, as well. This is definitely a place to not miss when visiting Savannah!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annscott28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circa 1875 also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Circa 1875? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing