We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“En Francais!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Circa 1875

Circa 1875
Reserve with OpenTable
Circa 1875 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 857 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: French, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Broughton
ga
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“En Francais!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Cute French bistro--french food, french decor. Very versatile--good for after-work drinks or romantic dinner. Excellent steak frites and scallops with mornay sauce. Good wine selection. Wish we had a place like this where we live! My only complaint is the service--not that great. But it is French, after all.... ;)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank atltraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    167
    41
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

A beautiful French bistro with excellent food. The cassoulet was one of the best I have had. Do not leave without trying the creme brûlée, out of this world!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank beans22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
231 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Late night great menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Loved this place. Late night dining with a great menu selection as well as great wines. My husband had their famous hamburger and said it was great. I loved their soup as well as the opportunity to make sides your entree. Their is bar seating as well as dining room seating. We chose bar-side and really enjoyed ourselves.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Great Place for New Year's Eve Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had a great time at Circa 1875. Delicious French menu. The staff was friendly and efficient. The food was delicious. We started with the French Onion Soup which was amazing and a meal all by itself. We also enjoyed the Steak Frites with a delicious Cabernet recommended by our server.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, G
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun Trendy Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Because this is a restaurant yet a bistro I did not know what to do when I first walked in but the people already there were very friendly and they said you can sit at the bar or choose a seat. I chose a table near the window, this bistro is located in the heart of downtown Savannah, a great place to people watch. I was served a nice dish of bread and real butter. Delicious. I ordered the prime rib sandwhich and a side of lyonnaise potatoes, I was happily surprised at the large portions that I was served. I forgot to mention, this is a bistro serving french fare. I had the chocolate mousse for dessert and it was absolutely divine! The price was reasonable as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheresaA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circa 1875 also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Circa 1875? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing