We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art Fare”
Review of Cafe Zeum - CLOSED

Cafe Zeum
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Healthy
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Art Fare”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

There is nothing bad about this spot! The food is delicious, as well as their sister store, Starland Cafe. The tomato thai soup is to die for. The menu is mostly vegetarian with the option to add meat, so this is a nice balance for all eaters. Not too many soup/salad joints in Savannah, so this is a must! Plus, being in the Telfair Museum is nice ambiance.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Satellite Beach, florida USA
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place/healthy food choices”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This new place is a STUNNER for ambiance-huge plate glass windows with views of the square and Telfair museum. Modern Scandinavian design in furniture(IKEA!). Serves up light salads/sandwiches/soups-great stop for after shopping(lone diners will feel totally at home here). I had a salad-the romaine lettuce leaves were wilted and they were drenced beforehand in dressing-not made to order-but, it could have been fantastic-apples/nuts/grapes,etc. (hard to find healthy food in Savannah). Note to owner/chef-make the salads to order-don't dress them until they are about to come out. (keep your lettuce chilled and fresh). Husband had the Thai/tomato soup-bill for 2 light lunches-$18.73 plus quarters for the meter. The gift shop is great, too-hard to leave this beautiful building. Ella was our waitress-she was great and efficient.We would go again, despite the soggy salad.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sneepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Relaxing lunch at Jepson Center”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Cafe Zeum is in the lobby of the Jepson Center, overlooking the square. The space is great, and the service was attentive.

I enjoyed the kitchen sink salad, a wonderful mix of crunchy and sweet ingredients. The cafe opens earlier than the museum on some days making it perfect for an early lunch followed by a visit to the museum.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Zoom to Zeum. Go for the food, stay for the art.”
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Who can resist something called a "Goat Bomb?" Certainly not us. We weren't sorry, as the cup of thick tomato basil soup with a wedge of chevre was super yummy, coupled as it was with triangles of delicious grilled herbed bread for dipping. The kitchen sink salad was plentiful and excellent with nice fruity touches and a good dressing, and we had trouble deciding from all the good salads, which are easily meals in themselves. Ask them to hold the chow mein noodles if you'd rather focus on the bread from your bomb. We ended up leaving some because we got stuffed and it killed us. Sadly, we couldn't even fit dessert. Loved our friendly, funny waiter.

Helpful?
Thank Getaway2beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Omg! Awesome”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Good? Oh no so much better than that. Portions are huge. You can't go wrong here. Hole in the wall, but a must.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anniefg111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Zeum also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing