We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Owens-Thomas House (part of Telfair Musuems)”
Review of Owens-Thomas House

Owens-Thomas House
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.00*
and up
Savannah Trolley and Historic Walking Tour Combo
Ranked #13 of 213 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Owens-Thomas House is considered by architectural historians to be one of the finest examples of English Regency architecture in America. Inspired by classical antiquity, this style of architecture takes its name from England’s King George IV, who ruled as Prince Regent from 1811 to 1820.The house was designed by the young English architect William Jay, one of the first professionally-trained architects practicing in the United States. The elegant residence was built from 1816 to 1819 for cotton merchant and banker Richard Richardson and his wife Francis Bolton. Mr. Richardson’s brother-in-law was married to Ann Jay, the architect’s sister. Three years after the house’s completion, Richardson suffered financial losses and sold his house, which later came under possession of the Bank of the United States.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
225 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Owens-Thomas House (part of Telfair Musuems)”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We really liked this house because of the uniqueness of the indoor plumbing system, very rare for its time and the bridge on the second floor. The gold leafed pillars and spindles on the staircase were very detailed and special. Tour guide could have been a bit more excited, but he tried!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank marylou72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    827
    458
    140
    27
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“OK but pricey”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We visited this house on our recent trip to Savannah. It was just OK. It was nice to see the historic house, but felt it was a little expensive for what we paid. Our tour guide also seemed to be a little surely! I guess its worth going to if it is your first visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mrwamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“1st US residential property with indoor plumbing!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The docents give great tours of this lovingly restored and preserved landmark house, designed with obsessive detail for perfect symmetry. Highly recommend it. Be sure to get for only $5 more the pass that give you access to the other two Telfair properties in Savannah.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PeeWee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Tour”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I love the historical home in downtown Savannah, GA and this is a must. Pay for the trio of admissions with the Epson Center for the Arts and the value is then worth it. It was a year ago when I went but I remember the tour guide being very knowledgeable and friendly. It's amazing how the plumbing in these homes were created. This was the first home with plumbing in Savannah if memory serves me right. The architecture as beautiful as well.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JRudy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great tour and architectural treasure”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is one of the houses I most enjoy visiting in Savannah! It contains great history, Southern charm and has been beautifully retired for visitors. The Museum has done a great job at maintaining its unique tales alive. The garden is a jewel and the small shop and interactive video are very informative. If you visit Savannah, don't miss this tour!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melorods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owens-Thomas House also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Owens-Thomas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing