We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little pricey but best home tour in Savannah”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Owens-Thomas House

Owens-Thomas House
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.00*
and up
Savannah Trolley and Historic Walking Tour Combo
Ranked #15 of 210 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Owens-Thomas House is considered by architectural historians to be one of the finest examples of English Regency architecture in America. Inspired by classical antiquity, this style of architecture takes its name from England’s King George IV, who ruled as Prince Regent from 1811 to 1820.The house was designed by the young English architect William Jay, one of the first professionally-trained architects practicing in the United States. The elegant residence was built from 1816 to 1819 for cotton merchant and banker Richard Richardson and his wife Francis Bolton. Mr. Richardson’s brother-in-law was married to Ann Jay, the architect’s sister. Three years after the house’s completion, Richardson suffered financial losses and sold his house, which later came under possession of the Bank of the United States.
Lugoff, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little pricey but best home tour in Savannah”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Since no one else showed at the time that we went, we had our own personal tour. The house is beautiful and the docent was very informative. Even though it was a lot of money for just one house, we felt that it was worth it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank vivianmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    803
    452
    138
    27
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This house is definitely worth a visit while in Savannah. A lot of history and interesting aspects of the home. The inside plumbing and air conditioning that were part of the original plans for the home were a modern convenience that even the White House didn't have during the same time period. Interior features were really amazing and the fact that they have furnishings original to the home really gives you a feel for the period.

A couple things I think they should consider incorporating into the tour would be making one of the upstairs bedrooms into a children's room. They mention a couple times that the children's rooms would be on the second floor yet the two bedrooms that were set up for the tour were not set up this way. Another thing, since they brag about the indoor plumbing and the luxury of the working toilets within the house, they should actually show what the bathroom (water closet) looked like. They have a hole cut into the flooring on the second floor so that you can see the cistern between the floors that would supply the water to the toilet when flushed but you do not see the actual toilet.

Overall a great tour - hope they have plans to expand on the number of rooms available for viewing.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Home Tour - Great for Kids!”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was the best home tour we went on in Savannah. I have two young children (5 and 7), so this is the first time we have attempted home tours with them because they can be long and boring. Our docent had a laminated scavenger hunt sheet with items from the rooms for my kids to find. They couldn't wait to go from room to room to find the items. She also did a great job of including them in the history of the house by saying things like "You would have slept here" and "you would have eaten down here in the kitchen with the servants." My kids thought it was fantastic. This was our first tour and my son kept asking to go to more homes after this one.

The home itself was amazing. It was the first home in Savannah with indoor plumbing, and it is worth it to see how a house had to be built to accomodate that. Plus, the architect was only 24 when he designed it (which is probably why there is an incredibly cool bridge on the second floor)! All in all we had a great time. As others have noted the Telfair organization is incredibly particular about taking photographs at all of their properties. It is what it is. We bought the three museum package, which I thought was really reasonable at $40 for my whole family for all three museums (the house, Telfair Academy, and the modern art museum)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank shayes915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great house to tour”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

One of the best houses we toured. Very informative guide and enough furnishings to give you the realism of the times. Convenient to get to and didn't have to wait.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
114 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Support the presevation effort”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

All the historic house tours of Savannah are a must. They all deserve our support. We toured Owens Thomas, Telfair Academy and the modern art museum as part of a one fee for all three visits package. The style and innovation of the Owens Thomas house was fun to learn about.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank CactusPatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owens-Thomas House also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Owens-Thomas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing