We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Day Trip Tour”
Review of Owens-Thomas House

Owens-Thomas House
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Savannah Trolley and Historic Walking Tour Combo
More Info
$24.99*
and up
History and Architecture Tour of Savannah
Ranked #12 of 218 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Owens-Thomas House is considered by architectural historians to be one of the finest examples of English Regency architecture in America. Inspired by classical antiquity, this style of architecture takes its name from England’s King George IV, who ruled as Prince Regent from 1811 to 1820.The house was designed by the young English architect William Jay, one of the first professionally-trained architects practicing in the United States. The elegant residence was built from 1816 to 1819 for cotton merchant and banker Richard Richardson and his wife Francis Bolton. Mr. Richardson’s brother-in-law was married to Ann Jay, the architect’s sister. Three years after the house’s completion, Richardson suffered financial losses and sold his house, which later came under possession of the Bank of the United States.
Millis, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pleasant Day Trip Tour”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This house tour was very interesting. The staff member who lead the tour was very knowledgeable and pleasant. It was the best house tour we had ever been on. The price we felt was pretty high. They do take AAA but it only saves a couple of dollars. They did offer for a little more a package to see a museum but we were only there for the day.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julianna72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    865
    471
    142
    27
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So Interesting and one of the Best Deals in town w/ Student ID”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This was awesome. I'm from Charleston and I've never done a historical home tour, but I will go on more of them from now on. Our guide's name was Yasmir (might be wrong on that), but she was awesome! So knowledgeable. Just about every question we could ask, she knew the answer to. One of the staff members said that this young lady was pretty new, but you couldn't convince me that she hadn't been doing this for years. I was nervous when we started the tour at the Slave Quarters, but our guide acknowledged the historical significance and Slave's contributions in a very respectful way.

Sally was also super helpful at the front desk. I would love to come take this tour again after the renovations are complete. I'm not a history buff, but this tour made me want to learn more about Lowcountry History. So glad I went.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing House, Awful Tour Guide”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This house is definitely worth seeing, with its ahead of its time plumbing system and bridge over the staircase. But our tour guide was awful. He didn't talk much at all and just kept asking us if we had any questions. When I did ask one, he answered with a good depth of knowledge, but that just made you wonder why, if he had that kind of knowledge, why he didn't talk more to begin with. This house was a little more expensive than some of the others, and the house was way more impressive, but the shy or lazy tour guide made it much less interesting than the other houses we went too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Owens House Tour”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Good example of an early 1800's home in Savannah. You get to see the slaves quarters, the kitchen, their cistern system and then visit the upstairs to see all the bedrooms and entertainment areas.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank PBlyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N CA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Educational and very interesting”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

It's a bit pricy @ $15 per person, but with a pass to two other places @$20, it made it better.

Depending on how you time your visit, we ended up with a private tour of the house (with a docent). The group before us was 14+ people. It was amazing how much money "rich" people wasted building these homes!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank tamlym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owens-Thomas House also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Owens-Thomas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing