We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tauck tour to the south”

Savannah Historic District
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.95*
and up
Savannah Historic and Secret East Side Food Tour
Ranked #1 of 210 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Savannah's picturesque historic district brings the traditional southern atmosphere to life.
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tauck tour to the south”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Beautiful homes/shops/restaurants. Easy to walk. Lots of reasonable transportation. Prices were what I'd expect in a tourist city. People were courteous, friendly.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,557
    1,560
    169
    45
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The sense of history and the beautiful atmosphere of the pocket parks with the lovely old trees with spanish moss will live with me forever. Historic houses and statues demonstrate how residents value their city and make it easy for others to share that sense of history. Thank you Savannah!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phyl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mareuil-Sur-Lay-Dissais, France
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A gem.”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

What a beautiful place this is. Smaller than we thought, so great to do on foot. We started out by doing the Oglethorpe Trolley tour, which gives you a lot of information about Savannah and then explored the rest on foot.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank trails60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Level Contributor
227 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Delightful Savannah visit in the Spring !”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is a must go to city. We stopped in on our way to Florida and I am very glad we did. The historic district is a pleasant place to stroll and shop. There are carriage rides and the flowers, trees ans Spanish moss give the city an ethereal quality. There are wonderful and unique shops and a few cafes on the main street.
I suggest you head toward the waterfront - cobble stone steps lead down to a fabulous area of stores and restaurants. Parking can be a problem - so be patient or be prepared to park and walk.
There are scenic boat rides and you can stroll the streets with a beverage in hand.
We chose to eat at a popular restaurant on River Street - -that was packed with tourists- it was called The Cotton Exchange and will be the subject of a review - It was far too expensive the view from the ground floor was not good, the restrooms were filthy and the food was greasy, undercooked and cold. We should have kept looking for a better place. Next time.
At night the streets hold even more charm and comes alive. I plan to return and to schedule a much longer stay, Savannah has won a place in my heart.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
192 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Taking a tour of the historic district gave me a real feel for the plantation south. Was amazed at the history here from both the civil and revolutionary wars. Beautiful homes and restored properties give this town character.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jodphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savannah Historic District also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing