We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's walkable,mostly safe, needs more pee poos”

Savannah Historic District
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.95*
and up
Savannah Historic and Secret East Side Food Tour
More Info
$55.57*
and up
Savannah Food Tour of the Historic District by Bus
More Info
$19.98*
and up
Savannah Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 218 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Savannah's picturesque historic district brings the traditional southern atmosphere to life.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“It's walkable,mostly safe, needs more pee poos”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

If the weather cooperates the historic district is a gem, even if you don't like the touristy side of it. It's much more laid back than Charleston, it's nice that you can sit on a bench in a square and drink a coffee or eat a sandwich.

the older buildings are attractive well kept and the gardens are nice if you peer over a fence line.

About the only thing that detracts from the experience is it seems you're always on the hunt for a public restroom.. there are not that many in the district and you will get panhandled a bit.

Nothing like a big city , but expect to get popped at least one time per day. They are mostly polite about it. But I'm sure they'd like more restrooms too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank willdriveforfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,029
    1,620
    180
    47
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Savannah history”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed touring the historic district in Savannah today. Interesting sights and historic trivia and loved Victorian architecture.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Osborn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansbury park, Utah, United States
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Luv this city”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Take one of the tours, learn a bit of the history then spend some time on foot walking the city, exploring the squares, shops and meeting folks.

This is a great city. So much history, and beauty. Love the trees and the squares. Great shops, restaurants and bars all over the place. SCAD students seem to provide some youth that adds to the city.

I have taken several tours, they have all been good. Well worth the $18-$25, plan on spending the day, hopping on and off, shopping dining and enjoying the day.

Favorite places to eat. Magic mushroom for pizza, Moon River for a nice beer (my son loved the St. L Ribs $22), PJ's Thai for lunch.

We have done a couple of the Haunted or Ghost tours and they are not all that great unless you get a guide that is a real story teller.

Take your camera, and get some great shots of this beautiful city.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank marshall5686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkesboro, NC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to walk”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Loved walking hand and hand down these streets and looking at the history in every square. The fountains, the flowers, the music the fact that it was clean. Made us smile. Our favorite place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SGM1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Go when it's crowded...”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I know that's a crazy statement but not to talk bad about homeless & the unfortunate. I was approached one after another by people asking for money, cigarettes etc. and I don't mind this AT ALL, but their stories were EXACTLY the same. When it's crowded it's not as bad. At one point I actually got into a heated conversation by a inebriated individual who was a "sniper, special forces blah blah" who the cops stole his backpack which I pointed out he was carrying... Be aware of whose around you is all I'm saying

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tpurvis06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savannah Historic District also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing