We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great city to visit.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savannah Historic District

Savannah Historic District
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.95*
and up
Savannah Historic and Secret East Side Food Tour
Ranked #1 of 210 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Savannah's picturesque historic district brings the traditional southern atmosphere to life.
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great city to visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We took the Old Savannah Tours trolley with a two day pass and felt that we had gotten more than our monies worth. The guides were very well informed. Their presentation was personal and complete. Even had "Forrest Gump" come on board to talk to us. We will go back to this travel guide again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,349
    1,530
    167
    45
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not very interesting place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

You can do Savannah in one day. There are some interesting museums - we saw the Davenport House which was worth the $8 for entry and tour. The area around River Street was very commercialised and could do with some injection of originality. Even the restaurants looked likely to be rip offs and the little markets were offering typical tourist rubbish. In a place like Savannah which does not have too much going for it, they could have done a lot better in terms of interesting shops, art galleries, coffee and cake places, interesting craft things. I was surprised how rubbish it was in the City Market in particular - just restaurants and nothing in the way of crafts that would make it worthwhile going there. There is no comparison to Charleston where we have just come from and very disappointing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BevAminzade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
260 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Take a Trolly Tour and then walk ... and walk ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

The conjunction of squares and historic structures defies simple description. Savannah was so incredibly important to the development of Georgia and the Antebellum South and the Historic District is the heart of that community. Ya gotta see it for yourself, and to the first-timer, as we were in early March 2013, start with a Trolly tour and there are several to choose from. We took the Oglethorpe Tour, but rumor has it they are all good! Then, get your walking shoes on and with tour guide in hand, get out there!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeezersOnTheGo-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Indiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You must see Savannah!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Bike riding and walking through the historic district is a wonderful way to see the architecture - we first took a trolley tour, which is a great way to get oriented and learn some of the history. The best thing is all the squares and parks you go around. Super friendly city!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie46176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Up and coming, sophisticated, hip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I liked the historic district simply for its beauty and charm. The live oak trees, which are not native to this region, are astonishing and well worth the trip. The spanish moss entwined on the limbs gives Savannah its charm and beauty in a way that is truly life-affirming. The architecture is absolutely the most enchanting aspect of a visit to this beautiful city. The grand old mansions face onto park squares that are open to the public day and night. Savannah is just one of those places you cannot truly describe, you have to see it for yourself to experience it fully.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank maribel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savannah Historic District also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing