We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow but knowledgeable”

Savannah Cultural Heritage Tours and Events
Ranked #54 of 146 Tours in Savannah
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Savannah Cultural Heritage Tours, Concerts, and Events was founded by R. Chase Anderson aka "The Founder." These experiences step beyond mere walking tours of Savannah to embrace direct cultural experiences including Southern Storytelling, Vintage Theater, and Music in an 1863 house at Forsyth Park -- The Artist Inn. Encounter off-the-grid locations known only to locals. Savannah Ghost Walks is the first private to small group tour in Savannah, Georgia. "The Founder" is a Savannah local, paranormal investigator and professional storyteller with ancestral Savannah family roots.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Chase really likes what he does but needs to tighten up his stories. Not enough substance and too much time at one spot. Unfortunately he kept saying that everything was haunted so it detracted from any history he retold.

Probably would not do this tour in the future.

Thank belina3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GhostsofSavannah, Owner at Savannah Cultural Heritage Tours and Events, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Well, I'm very sorry to hear that it wasn't all you expected. I do take critiques like this seriously and they can't help but improve the experiences of others in the future. Do contact us when you can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 171 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

Took the Savannah Ghost Walk, 10:30 show, with Chase Anderson and had a blast. Chase is a fantastic storyteller and very knowledgeable. He could answer pretty much all of our questions about Savannah's history and flora. I was expecting 60 - 90 minutes, but the tour lasted more than 2 hours (though it went by really quickly). A perfect way to spend a Saturday night in Savannah. Chase also gave us a bunch of helpful pointers on exploring Savannah on our own - good places to see in daylight and spots that are worth a return visit. We really looked at the city differently after the walk.

Would totally recommend this tour to anyone visiting this beautiful city.

1  Thank 007_nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GhostsofSavannah, Owner at Savannah Cultural Heritage Tours and Events, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you, Canada for your insightful connection Savannah's haunting genius loci and our flora and fauna. All so intertwined.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Based on the reviews I read before going, I would agree fully with a few points. Chase is a good storyteller and very knowledgable about the history of the city. And for that, it is a good tour. But we were hoping for a little more. The stories about where ghosts have been seen and the history behind them were good. But I guess our expectations were for a little more scare factor or a little more dark and eerie places. For the price, I would have liked a little more bang for the buck.

1  Thank Cardcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GhostsofSavannah, Owner at Savannah Cultural Heritage Tours and Events, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for taking time to offer an objective critique of locations on the tour. Your points are valid. I wish we could have provided a more rewarding experience for you. Please contact us when you can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Savannah has been offering walking and automotive ghost tours for years. Because of her extensive historical background and buildings existing from the 17th century, there are many haunted homes and buildings that still stand. Many of the stories have been relayed for years. There's nothing better than taking a walking ghost tour on a cool fall evening in Savannah, GA. Even if one isn't lucky enough to "see" one of our famous ghosts, the ambiance itself is worth the time and money! This is a great opportunity to experience a fantastic piece of history with the whole family.

Thank Susan8696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GhostsofSavannah, Owner at Savannah Cultural Heritage Tours and Events, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thanks for your observations on Savannah's 19th and 18th century legacy. Glad you joined us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I'm always skeptical of touristy type things, but I had a really good time on this ghost walk. It was just nice to get out of the hotel and see the city on foot. Chase is a good storyteller and was knowledgeable about both history and geography. Even if you don't believe in the paranormal, it's possible to have a great time. He also seemed like a really nice guy. I appreciated that he didn't dress up or make it a parody of a spooky haunted tour. There's enough of that mess with the hearses flying around...

Thank Blu529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savannah Cultural Heritage Tours and Events also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Savannah Cultural Heritage Tours and Events? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing