We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Riverfront” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverfront Plaza

Riverfront Plaza
Ranked #29 of 210 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This nine-block pedestrian plaza is located on the former grounds of the city's cotton exchange.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
213 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Riverfront”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Worth a stroll, but shops are a bit pricey and many sell the same touristy items. A few decent restaurants, but other felt like tourist traps and weren't great. I wouldn't make it priority, but stroll through if you have time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MTLtravelerRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    96
    40
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hialeah Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you're into history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

The riverfront is chalk full of history!...every shop or restaurant occupies space in the old cotton warehouses. The walls and the cobblestone streets have been there for over 100 years. Before you shop or eat just take in where you are. Enjoy the the scenery. I'm going back!

Helpful?
Thank Sukiet007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for adult crowds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We arrived in Savannah late afternoon so we unpacked and headed down to Riverfront Plaza early evening. I have two children so we figured we could find a nice place to eat dinner. I was surprised by all adults that were under the influence at 7ish. We decided to move away from the Riverfront after walking a couple blocks and found a family friendly location to eat dinner. We did go back to Riverfront Plaza a couple days later in the early afternoon, atmosphere was tuned down and I felt it was suitable for my children.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Small”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

There is a nice candy shop and some quaint shops. You can get this done in an hour but it's a nice setting and a fun place for awhile.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Skap234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Keep on walking”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

There are better places to go in Savannah.
The Riverfront Plaza is a tourist trap with panhandlers, grifters and scammers.
The history and architecture could be interesting, but the tackiness of the shops detract from it.
While there, we were approached for money and for the "use" of our cell phone.
If shopping is what you are seeking, we would recommend staying with the unique shops around the historic squares.

Helpful?
6 Thank tag302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverfront Plaza also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Riverfront Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing