We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small area like many lovely small towns in the South”
Review of City Market

City Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.00*
and up
Savannah Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
More Info
$31.00*
and up
Historic On and Off Trolley Tour of Savannah
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Walking Tour of Savannah's Historic District
Ranked #29 of 218 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This old area of the city includes a pedestrian promenade with a collection of interesting shops, restaurants and stores.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a lovely place to rest and people watch or have a relaxing lunch. The shops and eateries are small....There are many such small designated areas about the South....so this seemed to be the usual and nothing special.

Thank Raggsmillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

We are sorry to hear about your experience. We try to offer something for everyone. We hope you were able to meet some of our talented artists and see some of the galleries.

Sincerely,
Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director - City Market

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,571 - 1,575 of 1,865 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is definitely a must see for anyone visiting Savannah. There are a variety of stores that sell everything from icecream to earrings. The best part would have to be the live bands. Until you go to City Market and experience Liquid Ginger (a local band) in particular, you have no idea that you are missing out on a really cool culturally creative part of Savannah. There are information stands so there are people there to help you find what you need. I planned to go there for thirty minutes just to see what was so "must see" about it, and stayed over three hours!

Thank lynt604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy some of the fine tunes played by our local bands. You can find live entertainment daily in our courtyard.

Sincerely,
Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director - City Market

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I expected more local items/artists and there were really just a few truly local shops. It lacked any authentic market feel. It wasn't negative, just not what I expected.

1  Thank TwoByTwo_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment. We hope you were able to meet some of our talented artists and see some of the live entertainment played daily in the courtyard.

Sincerely,
Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director - City Market

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Cool place, fun, lots of people, good shops and good food. Great place to chill! The people and friendly and polite!

Thank Walkitout76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to stop in. We hope you were able to meet some of our wonderful artists. We hope you come again.

Sincerely,
Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director - City Market

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Everyone said that the city market was a must, so of course we went for a visit. It was a good break from all the historical sightseeing. Lots of Savannah wares and meals to be had. You can get a quick on the go meal or an ice cream and still have time to shop in the many local craft and souvenir stores .The vendors are very friendly and are not pushy. We were there during the day before the bar scene commences.

Thank TheotherWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review. We hope you were able to sample some of the goodies you can find at City Market. We also have live entertainment played daily in the courtyard.
Thank you for visiting and we hope you come back again.


Sincerely,
Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director - City Market

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Market also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to City Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing