We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was alright”
Review of City Market

City Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.00*
and up
Historic On and Off Trolley Tour of Savannah
Ranked #27 of 217 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This old area of the city includes a pedestrian promenade with a collection of interesting shops, restaurants and stores.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It was alright”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

After checking out the virtual website of the area, I thought there was going to be a lot more here to see.
I agreen with some of the other posts that there was a lot of artsy sort of studios which were nice to drop by and check out.
I'm not sure if there wasn't as much "wow" to the area since it was pretty windy and at the end of October.
It was cool to see the avid Bulldog fans hang out some of the restaurants having a great time cheering even if I am a Mizzou Tiger fan!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DestinyStL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We are sorry to hear about your experience. We try to have something for all ages. We hope you were able to see and meet some of our artists or grab some freshly made goodies from one of the shops. At night we even have entertainment by some of our locals bands. Thank you for posting.

Sincerely,
Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director - City Market
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    738
    613
    338
    55
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Heights, IL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lots of activity”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you are looking for some good art galleries, live music and lots of people watching, then head on over to City Market. The shops are cute and the actions is plenty.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Beach M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
You are right there is lots of actions and something always happening at City Market. Make sure you catch some of the live music played daily in the court yard. Thank you for your review.



Sincerely,
Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director - City Market
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place anytime of the day”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

City Market is a great place to catch a fun band playing or stroll through great shops. Just the other day I was there and saw people playing chess (there's a HUGE chess set in the square), a group relaxing with a few cold beers, others doing yoga, a father playing football with a group boys, and others enjoying gelato. The whole time I was listening to a great band play and smelling the amazing food available at the numerous restaurants in City Market. It's a great place to see!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad to hear about your experience at City Market.

Sincerely,
Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director - City Market
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Friendly and Quaint”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We loved being at the City Market! So much to see and do....especially for the Christmas season: Christmas caroling, cookie decorating, fun crafts for kids, delicious food and fun stores to visit. Don't miss this special venue when you head to Savannah, GA!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PamiSueG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Happy Holidays!! We hope you enjoyed the Christmas for Kids Celebration. It is always one of my favorite times of the year. Thank you for posting.

Sincerely,
Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director - City Market
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great area!!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

There are several restarants, shops, and usually a band or singer. Check out:
Byrd Cookies - Best Cookies Ever!
Rings of Desire - a great shop with art, jewelry, and wonderful pottery made by the owners daughter - must see this pottery!
Carriage Rides at the opposite end!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank naeastwoodjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We appreciate your post. We definitely try to have something for everyone.

Sincerely,
Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director - City Market
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Market also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to City Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing