We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a disappointment”
Review of City Market

City Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.00*
and up
Savannah Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
Ranked #30 of 220 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This old area of the city includes a pedestrian promenade with a collection of interesting shops, restaurants and stores.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We had heard so much about having to go to the City Market prior to our trip but found it to be a bit of a let down. Other than a couple of art galleries, there really wasn't much shopping. Food choices seemed hit or miss with a tendency toward bars and music.

Thank mikencarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

We are sorry that you were disappointed in your visit to City Market. Between the retail shops, art galleries, tours in the area, outdoor music and over 7 restaurants we're sorry to hear that you didn't find something that appealed to you. Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Sincerely,
Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,969)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"art galleries"
in 101 reviews
"vinnie van"
in 38 reviews
"wild wings"
in 25 reviews
"block area"
in 19 reviews
"shops and restaurants"
in 81 reviews
"ellis square"
in 29 reviews
"nice shops"
in 27 reviews
"two blocks"
in 23 reviews
"cookies"
in 70 reviews
"local artists"
in 22 reviews
"candy store"
in 36 reviews
"wet willies"
in 19 reviews
"savannah candy"
in 25 reviews
"river street"
in 84 reviews
"free samples"
in 19 reviews
"pralines"
in 38 reviews
"carriage ride"
in 24 reviews
Filter

1,852 - 1,856 of 1,969 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2012

Lots of interesting things here to see. Local art and artists, music and good food. a fun place to hang out on a sunny afternoon!

Thank mystiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

So happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to City Market! Hope you'll visit again soon!
Sincerely,
Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The buildings house tourist shops and although most of them are decent the real fun is on the upper levels where artist work and sell there art. Getting to watch them work is fun for all ages, and talking to them about the work makes it so special! No pressure to buy, they are happy to see you and chit-chat! That said, there is some really nice stuff, so buy!

Thank exmontrealgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed a visit upstairs to The Art Center at City Market! We like to think it is a hidden gem in our area. The art is amazing and watching the artist create it is an added bonus! Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Sincerely,
Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

A couple of recent reviews are way off the mark. I don't know what was expected but the offering of live music, excellent galleries and studios and some fun pubs was better than expected and just fine for me. Go and test it out for yourself.

Thank Butch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of City Market. We are pleased to hear that you were not disappointed! With such a wide variety in our area, it is hard to not find something appealing! Thanks again and we hope you'll visit again on your next visit to Savannah!
Sincerely,
Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Nice place to stroll since there are no vehicles allowed....fun little shops and restaurants.

Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of City Market! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed visiting the property and hope you'll come again!
Sincerely,
Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Market also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to City Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing