We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under whelming”
Review of City Market

City Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.00*
and up
Savannah Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
More Info
$31.00*
and up
Historic On and Off Trolley Tour of Savannah
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Walking Tour of Savannah's Historic District
Ranked #29 of 218 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This old area of the city includes a pedestrian promenade with a collection of interesting shops, restaurants and stores.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Under whelming”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Spent a total of 30minutes at the market. Complete waste of time and too "touristy".

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy City Market. Between the art galleries, restaurants, souvenir shop and other unique options, we're so sorry that you didn't find something that was interesting to you.
Sincerely,
Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    752
    625
    345
    57
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Not very exciting”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We had a book about Savannah in our hotel room with charming pictures of City Market, so we were excited to go, looking forward to the interesting shops and hopefully a couple of great restaurants. It was pretty boring for an early Monday evening, when we found half of the shops closed and only a few options for food. The shop listing for the market lists dozens of options for both.

The highlight was the candy shop which gave out freshly made and warm pecan prailines, but that's the only shop that really offered anything unique. Other shops offer trinkets and souveniers you can find anywhere. We did find one art gallery with awesome pop art and great customer service, particularly since we were "just looking."

I won't feel the need to come here again - there wasn't anything here that I can't find online and nothing that seems special to Savannah. Perhaps it is different during the weekend. We also paid $10 for parking.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank gracegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your time in City Market. In January, most of the businesses close at 6pm. We're glad that you were able to view our information in the Southern Journey book. We hope you'll give us another try on your next visit to Savannah.
Sincerely,
Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waycross, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shopping”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Lots of cool shops to explore and nice resturants to eat in.

Helpful?
Thank JoAnna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review! We are glad you took time while in downtown Savannah to visit our shops and restaurants. Hope you'll come again soon!
Sincerely,
Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“not as good as Boston's Newbury”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

was fun to see and had good time.  Typical tshirt shops and over priced cafes.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
We're glad that you enjoyed your time in City Market. We do offer a wide variety of retail shops, from T-shirts to jewelry to art galleries, we try to offer something for everyone! Hope you'll visit again on your next trip to Savannah.
Sincerely,
Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fun to stroll and dine!”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

There are art galleries and shopping along with interesting restaurants. A bit touristy, but then why are you in Savannah but to observe and eat!

Helpful?
Thank lowcountryblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We agree that City Market is a great place to browse around and dine for lunch or dinner. We hope you'll join us again on your next trip to Savannah.
Sincerely,
Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Market also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to City Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing