We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice home,overpriced and highly rude innkeepers.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Galloway House Inn
Ranked #13 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Paid for 4 nights at the Galloway house and it was OK at best. For half the price it would have been fine but at $369 a night you tend to expect a lot for your money. The so called "breakfast" was never restocked. We got 4 muffins,6 8 oz. bottles of orange juice and some granola bars for 6 adults staying for 4 nights. Upon arrival we were treated very rudely for pulling into the driveway being told that our engine heat would kill his plants. No sign stating not to park there and it was directly behind his car at that. The home itself was very nice but the surrounding neighborhood was nothing short of a ghetto. We were followed by a man with a hammer as we walked down the street from dinner at 9:00 p.m. Luckily there was a police officer parked nearby and when he was informed about the hammer guy he went and actually arrested him. The owners were nice to your face but if you dare to do anything but smile and tell them how great the place is their demeaners change real fast. We had a very small problem with an air mattress at about 12:30 a.m. and out of respect waited till the following morning to ask for another one. Keith basically said it was our fault for sleeping on a deflated mattress since we did not call. While this is true... You run a business dude... I am paying you 1400 for 4 nights of lodgings. The correct response is," I am sorry about that , here is another mattress. He did furnish us with another mattress the next day. They were both very rude the remainder of our trip and never once apologized for the inconvenience. Savannah is one of the most beautiful places in the U.S. and to truly experience it you would be better off staying at one of the real establishments closer to the Riverstreet. They are far more affordable and offer the kind of positive atmosphere and hospitality you and your family deserve to get from someone you are giving your hard earned cash to. I am sure Keith will be defending himself as he never responds to the satisfied guests and only to any who "dare" complain. The home is real nice though. P.S. no kids allowed, to me that says enough. Hi Keith, give me your best shot. We left that place cleaner than when we arrived. Christopher B. Smith. Fl.

Room Tip: The carriage house is probably the best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithinSavannah, Owner at The Galloway House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

The rate for this reservation equaled $54 per person, per night, including taxes and breakfast during the high season. I chatted with every member of the family almost everyday, including 45 minutes on the front porch the night before departing and absolutely none of these issues were ever mentioned. If a guest doesn't tell us they're dissatisfied during their stay but then calls after returning home to complain and ask for a substantial refund, it makes me wonder why.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 197 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Galloway house is wonderful. My friend and I stayed in the carriage house which was actually an apartment with private bath, living room, fully stocked kitchen. Every detail was perfect. I really couldn't say one thing to our friendly, informative hosts that could be a suggestion on how to make it better. The gardens were beautiful, the location was great -- quiet and easily accessible to some fine restaurants and a manageable walk to the historic district. Also, very easy access to 80 if you want to venture out of Savannah to the beach (which is only about 15 miles away). Keith and Jim could not have been more helpful with suggestions on what to do, where to eat, what was worth seeing or not. We will most definitely be staying here again on our next visit to Savannah.

Jan

Room Tip: The carriage house is great for two people - private - king size bed - lots of room - pretty garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jantomg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Not only is the Galloway House a beautiful old mansion, but they pay attention the details. Keith personally welcomes each visitor, making you feel right at home. The rooms are always clean, set up with fresh flowers, a bottle of wine, muffins and bagels. There is always fresh coffee beans to grind, the fridge is stocked with yogurt, juice, water, and cream cheese for the bagels.
The gardens are a delight, as is the large welcoming front porch!

We usually bring our dogs, as dogs are welcome. But don't be mislead and think that because this is a pet friendly place that it is less than beautiful!

A true gem of Savannah!

Room Tip: We have never stayed in a bad room. They are all beautiful. The carriage house may be a little mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siri_in_Shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

A bit of spontaneity resulted in this GREAT find in Savannah. My boyfriend & I decided over lunch on Monday that we wanted to go to Savannah tomorrow...but we have to take the dog. So, I went straight to the internet and The Galloway House was the number one pick! It had wonderful reviews like mine and the best find was since it was a last minute booking I saved 35% on the room!
We were in the Carriage House located upstairs in the back of the house and it was perfect. It was a quiet one bedroom, one bathroom, small kitchen with living space. It felt just like home for us and our dog. The fridge was stocked with juice, water, yogurt, bagels, granola bars, muffins and WINE! It was so welcoming! The location might seem a bit sketchy at first, but trust this traveler it is just fine. You are less than a 5 minute drive to River Street or City Market and a short walk to Forsythe Park which the dog loved. For traveling to Savannah many times and I normally stay on River Street or on Tybee - this was a nice change of place!
Keith was wonderful and accommodating - we were early checking in and Keith made sure we could get in with no problem. We ate at a few of the recommedations per Keith and I wish we had time to try them all. The Green Truck Pub - DELISH for a YUMMY burger!
I will most certainly return and I will stay at The Galloway House again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathrynP33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I decided to get away for the weekend with our 4yo great dane. The Galloway House was exactly the place we needed. It was a wonderful and comfortable home away from home. Keith & Jim were wonderful and had great suggestions for new comers like us. I loved the garden in the back. It was beautiful to just sit and relax in. It was the perfect walking distance for us from everywhere because we love to walk around and see the sights. The carriage house was perfect. We even had a fully stocked kitchen we cooked dinner in one night. We will definitely be making a trip like this again very soon! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leahkosiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is the perfect spot to set off for exploring Savannah. Although we don't have a dog, we were drawn to Galloway House because of their pet friendly policy and having our own apartment. We stayed on the third floor. The entire apartment is light filled and spacious. There is a cozy window seat overlooking the front street which is an ideal place to read. Keith was very accommodating with our early arrival and we were able to drop off our stuff. His provided recommendations for things to do, Raskins Antiques, and places to eat which were terrific. The fridge was stocked with yogurt, muffins, a welcoming bottle of wine, bagels and juice. We felt both pampered and right at home. The gardens around the house are beautiful and I can imagine delightful to enjoy on a warm evening. The location is near Forsythe Park which is a great place to begin enjoying Savannah.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acmichaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was our second time visiting Savannah, and while we didn't want to stay in a regular hotel because there are so many amazing bed and breakfasts in Savannah we didn't want to stay at a traditional B&B either.

The Galloway house was exactly what we were looking for. A small apartment for my wife and I to stay (we were on the first floor of the carriage house) and cook our own meals without the mandatory breakfast times of most B&B's. The owners we're incredibly friendly, and even assisted us in finding a safe place to park our bikes in the backyard. The food that was provided was more than enough for our 3 night stay. Enough water for 2 grown adults who were bicycling, orange juice, yogurt, granola bars, and most importantly coffee.

I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,850 reviews
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 114 in Savannah
1,340 reviews
Catherine Ward House Inn
#2 of 30 in Savannah
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#6 of 30 in Savannah
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Galloway House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galloway House Inn

Address: 107 E 35th St, Savannah, GA 31401-8111
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: $191 - $534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Galloway House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"classic Savannah, a hidden gem!" Southern Living Magazine Go to: Galloway House Inn. Net for lowest rates and availability. We have 4 private apartments, each with it's own fully stocked kitchen, we live on site and allow dogs of any size. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Galloway House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Galloway House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing