We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown
Ranked #31 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2014

This hotel is a short drive to the historic district. The front desk staff were excellent. We extended our stay to multiple nights. The hotel was clean and appeared to have been recently updated. Breakfast was good and we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ourturn2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    326
    127
    58
    31
See reviews for
442
377
46
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2014

We stayed here for the Labor Day holiday andt he hotel was absolutely wonderful! The staff was super friendly and helpful! The room was extremely clean and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was very nice as well. I absolutely have no complaints and we will definetly stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmewif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay. Despite it being a very busy hotel (5 family reunions at once!) our room was a quiet respite during our mini vacation. We appreciated the midtown location, as everything we wanted to see and do was just a short drive away. The front desk staff was very helpful and went out of the way to track down a safety pin for me. The breakfast was surprisingly good. The mini cheese omelettes and sausage patties were delicious!

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Thank you Katie. We appreciate your review. We're so happy to hear that you had a nice and quite mini vacation while staying with us and that you enjoyed our breakfast offerings. We try to ensure all our guests feel at home while staying with us. Thank you again for leaving your review here on Trip Advisor for others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

We picked this hotel for a 2 day/ 1 night stay based on the information presented on the hotels' website. We were disappointed for the following reasons- 1) The hotel is NOT 3 miles from the historic district as it advertises. It is 6 plus miles. 2) The hotel does not offer any transportation to local attractions again advertised on their website. The only way to get to town is via a taxi. When we first asked the front desk for one, the rep told us one could be called but she charged per person. We asked for a metered taxi, and one finally showed up after a 45 minute wait. 3) We were worse off on the way back, when we were charged a "surcharge" for dropping us to the hotel. 4) There were no dining options in either of the two adjoining hilton properties after 9PM. 5) Breakfast in the morning was underwhelming. The eggs were cold. Waffle station was missing the spray, and refills were few and far between. 6) The hotels' small gym had no air, and the staff had no way of turning it up in spite of multiple requests. 7) We requested some tooth brushes and shaving kits in the morning, which were delivered an hour after the first call, and only after reminding the front desk of our initial request.

This was our most disappointing stay at a Hilton property. For a few extra bucks, we could have stayed at one of the riverfront properties in town!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PsPATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HIS_Midtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you very much for leaving your feedback. We do apologize you were disappointed with your recent stay and we have already addressed several of these issues with our team. However, we would like to take this opportunity to clarify a few things you mention. Our Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown is located just over 3 miles (3.5) from Savannah's Historic District. We apologize if there was a specific attraction or destination within the historic district that was farther away as the historic district spans several miles from River Street to Gwinnett St. (Forsyth Park) and from E. Broad St. to MLK Jr. Blvd. We would also like to apologize that you were not made aware of the array of dining options available within walking distance (1 block) of hotel including Bonefish Grill, Five Guys, Cancun Mexican, Atlanta Bread Company all of which are open past 9pm. Again, we are very sorry these options were not brought to your attention during your stay. While we understand if you choose to say in the historic district during your next visit, we do hope that should you find yourself in the Midtown area that you will give our property another opportunity to host you. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

The stay was nice, staff was friendly, especially Ana that was working at the restaurant in the morning was very nice. She asked if everything was o.k, if we needed anything...
We stayed only two nights but we enjoyed it

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebru N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellflower, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

Our stay at the Savannah Hampton Inn started off great. After flight from California, then a 4 hour drive from Atlanta we arrived early, and our room was ready, we were allowed to check in and rest. Pleasant surprise. The staff was great, recommending places to sight see and eat. The Hilton right next door has a wonderful buffet with all the fixins, I'm sounding southern now. Overall great place to stay, I highly recommend this hotel to all. I thanked the staff before leaving.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

This Hampton Inn & Suites location was excellent. Additionally, the continental breakfast was very good and well-stocked. The housekeeping staff did a wonderful job and the front desk staff were very attentive to requests. This was a very good stay - no complaints!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 193karends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Comfort Inn Midtown
#44 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown
Address: 20 Johnston St, Savannah, GA 31405-5501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Savannah
#13 Family Hotel in Savannah
#13 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah/Midtown hotel is where you want to stay. Ideally situated in Midtown Savannah, our hotel is located only three miles from the historic district and within walking distance of many fashionable retailers and well-known restaurants. Ask our Concierge to make reservations and recommendations for Savannah's area attractions. Our hotel offers four flexible event rooms able to accommodate up to 200 guests. Let our expert catering and events team take care of the details, including a personalized menu for your occasion from our celebrated executive chef. Spacious, welcoming and clean guest rooms await your arrival at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown. We offer hotel-style comfort with a range of home-like amenities including a 37-inch LCD TV with high definition channels and free WiFi. Stretch out in one of our spacious studio suites with additional amenities including a wet bar, microwave, refrigerator and sleeper sofa. These oversized rooms are 50% larger than a standard guest room, a great way to upgrade your stay. Start the day off right with Hampton's free hot breakfast, featuring a range of delicious hot options including fresh waffles and oatmeal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown Hotel Savannah
Hampton Inn And Suites Savannah Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing