We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown
Ranked #32 of 116 Hotels in Savannah
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel June 16th and arrived back home today. The hotel was a good value for my family. We had two queen beds (felt like a full for some reason), but that was no big deal. I looked at trip advisor first before booking and saw a lot of comments about stains on the carpet. There were stains on the carpet in our room, but it wasn't bothersome. I noticed that the hotel is starting to have wear and tear, but it really isn't a big deal. The hotel over all is very clean. The housekeepers do a great job. Our room even smelled good when we walked in. I wasn't sure if something was sprayed or if it was cleaning products. It didn't have that "hotel" smell. We didn't have a refrigerator or microwave in our room. So glad I thought to bring the cooler. No vending machines were located on our floor where the ice maker was, but the hotel has the market pantry by the front desk. There is a microwave downstairs in the lobby as well as hot coffee, hot water, tea bags, and hot chocolate packets.

The hot breakfast was decent. I didn't care for the waffles or turkey sausage, but the other items were tasty. Muffins, danish, fruit, cereal, omelettes (one day cheese, next day western)

We stayed on the 6th floor at the very end of the hall. For the most part we could only hear people in the hall or when we passed by someone's room. When someone let their door slam the headboard always shook. That was the only thing I can think of that was annoying. The drive to downtown didn't bother me. It wasn't too far and was easy to get to. Lots of places to eat and shop near the hotel. There is a shopping mall nearby with some decent stores. A Fresh Market, William's Sonoma as well as other shops are very close to the hotel. Savannah brochures located across from the elevators.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 6th floor at the very end of the hall away from ice maker and elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Athena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,124 - 1,130 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

Besides meat in the eggs and the waffle mix tasting like dish soap, I had a wonderful experience. Linens were clean, internet and TV worked, bathroom was clean, room temp was comfy and staff was friendly and helpful. I couldn't ask for more in a hotel stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jazzmaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HIS_Midtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for leaving your review. While we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and our staff, we are deeply sorry to hear about your experience with our breakfast. While I can assure you we do not intentionally serve meat in our eggs every so often utensils on the buffet can get mixed and food inadvertently ends up in the wrong place. We have notified our Food and Beverage Director to ensure the staff keeps close watch over the food in the buffet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our most recent prior stay was at the Hampton Inn in Myrtle Beach, SC and it was a very nice surprise to see how Hampton Inn has changed from an OK hotel in the mid 90's to what we consider a Four Star now. We were glad to see a Gideon Bible in our room at your Hotel, as well. Thanks, with Joyful and Continuous Blessings,

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very clean and the room was spacious. Nice pool area and lots of room to sit at the courtesy breakfast. The only 2 complaints are really more if an issue with all Hilton hotels: 1). The queen beds seem significantly smaller than the queen I have at home and aren't very comfortable. 2). If reservations are for 4 people, why only provide 3 sets of towels?

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13CCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HIS_Midtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown and for leaving your feedback. Although you mentioned your complaints were regarding Hilton hotels in general we wanted to let you know that the queen beds at our Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown are Serta Perfect Sleepers and are a standard Queen size (60x80).

Regarding the towels, or lack thereof, as housekeepers clean the rooms they do not necessarily know how many people will be checked into that room later in the day. Our double rooms are often booked for 2-3 people, as well as groups of 4, so 3 towels is essentially a median number of towels. Should a group of 4 be checked into a double room with 3 towels we are always happy to provide more upon request. We hope that you will continue to frequent Hilton hotels and if you’re ever in need of a room in Savannah that we will be able to host you at our Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown. Thank you for leaving your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very helpful and professional service from Mr. Bruce Kimble, when business center computer experienced difficulty with connection. He was successful in restoring the connection in a very sort period of time. Thanks Mr. Kimble.

Very friendly and sincere staff all around. Will certainly try to stay here and make The Hampton Inn my first choice when the travel opportunity arises again.

Ray Anthony Brown

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a really clean, attractive hotel in a great location off the main roads. I love Hampton Inns and stay in them as often as I can. Clean, nice amenities, really nice properties. I really like this hotel and wish i had a better experience, but it was just noisy! The doors are the kind that slam shut if you don't deliberately close them. I went to bed around 11 and heard nothing but doors slamming on my floor all...night...long...two nights in a row. I was far from the elevators and also had a lot of children running down halls, adults yelling down halls late into the night. I'm not sure that is something the hotel can control, but the doors can definitely be corrected. The breakfast is the usual fare and was busy and crowded. Lots of free parking, overall solid property, but the noise was just rediculous. Didn't really have much contact with the staff, but check in was pretty painless. For the money, i would just stay downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HIS_Midtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for leaving your review of our Hampton Inn & Suites. We do apologize for the excess noise you experienced from other guests and the guest room doors. Because of your comments, we checked our guestroom doors and recognized that a few of them needed to be tightened which prevents them from slamming. We have since fixed those doors. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I found a great price at the Hampton Midtown Savannah and we stayed three nights. From the minute we walked in to the time we checked out, the staff was so friendly, personable and helpful. The room was beautiful and immaculate. Had a beautiful bathroom and large shower. The bed was huge and so comfortable. It has been a long time since we stayed at a hotel with a full free breakfast. Anything you could want, hot or cold. Irene the "breakfast lady" was genuinely friendly and personable. She was a ray of sunshine and a great way to start the day.

Room Tip: check TripAdvisor for the best rate. We used the hotel website since we are members, but did find r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidsonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown

Address: 20 Johnston St, Savannah, GA 31405-5501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Business Hotel in Savannah
#13 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $123 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah/Midtown hotel is where you want to stay. Ideally situated in Midtown Savannah, our hotel is located only three miles from the historic district and within walking distance of many fashionable retailers and well-known restaurants. Ask our Concierge to make reservations and recommendations for Savannah's area attractions. Our hotel offers four flexible event rooms able to accommodate up to 200 guests. Let our expert catering and events team take care of the details, including a personalized menu for your occasion from our celebrated executive chef. Spacious, welcoming and clean guest rooms await your arrival at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown. We offer hotel-style comfort with a range of home-like amenities including a 37-inch LCD TV with high definition channels and free WiFi. Stretch out in one of our spacious studio suites with additional amenities including a wet bar, microwave, refrigerator and sleeper sofa. These oversized rooms are 50% larger than a standard guest room, a great way to upgrade your stay. Start the day off right with Hampton's free hot breakfast, featuring a range of delicious hot options including fresh waffles and oatmeal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelPower, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown Hotel Savannah
Hampton Inn And Suites Savannah Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing