We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Second time even better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown
Ranked #27 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Second time even better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We arrived before 4 PM check in, our room was available and checked in under a minute. This hotel is just right for my family and our needs. I will say that Breakfast was much improved over the last visit. All areas of the property were clean, and kept clean during our stay which would have been a challenge for any good hotel company, as they had a group of younger baseball tournaments going on this weekend. the hotel was sold out for the entire weekend. Our room was clean, and we had daily service. I will mention that the hotel is beginning to show some very small signs of wear in the rooms, but not enough to stop me or my family from staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buckiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HIS_Midtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We’re thrilled our Front Desk staff accommodated your room before 4:00 and you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for coming back to stay with us and sharing your experiences for other travelers. We enjoy having you as our guests and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Felton Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    284
    120
    40
    24
See reviews for
389
342
41
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed one night in a King Room with a Jacuzzi tub. Surprised on how nice it was and could have enjoyed staying there longer. Great price $119.00 There was a hot continental breakfast available in the morning. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was very clean. Easy to find and easy to get around. It was four miles from the Historic District.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Everything was great! The staff. The amenities. Everything. Thanks to everyone for your amazing help. They even delivered my baby right there in the elevator. We named him Little baby Hampton III because he was born on the third Floor. I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here for 3 nights. We arrives before the designated check-in time, but a room was ready for us and we were allowed to check-in early! Very nice! The room was nice and spacious. Breakfast was average for Hampton Inn. It is an easy drive into the historic district. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Savannah!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilovemyflipflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I recently visited Savannah for several days and stayed at the Hampton Inn-Midtown. It was a short driving distance from the Historic District. But we enjoyed being away from the hustle & bustle. The hotel was nicely decorated and comfortable. It could have used some refurbishing - especially carpet cleaning in our room. The other issue with our room was that the shower door would not close completely. It didn't seem to be a problem with water leaking out onto the ceramic tile floor though. It would also be nice if the shower had a seat in it as does some other Hampton's we have stayed in. The room was clean and was serviced well each day. Staff were friendly and helpful with a nice breakfast buffet and large eating area. We were also happy with the attached parking garage and being able to access it easily. All in all, we were very pleased with our stay at this Hampton.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Simple, standard hotel room. Nothing special, nice enough decor. But then I went to get in the bed.... coarse black hairs (multiple) in the bed, under the cover. After the first night I had serious pain in my back and hips that would not go away. By the third night I could not sleep a wink for the pain. I just couldn't find a position to relieve the pain. It was nothing I had ever experienced before, and after just one night back in my own bed it was all gone. This was without a doubt the single most uncomfortable bed I have ever 'tried' to sleep in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HIS_Midtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We never want our guest’s to have an uncomfortable night’s sleep and we apologize you did not have an excellent stay. Our reviews will testify that our housekeeping staff is known for their excellent work and any debris found in your room is a rare and isolated incident. We will be sure to share your review with our staff to ensure we are providing top service to our guests. Regarding the bed, we are sorry that you found it uncomfortable and hope you told our staff right away so we could accommodate you. We are happy to bring extra blankets, pillows or move a guest to a different room if available in order to meet their comfort needs. We hope you would give our hotel another chance on your return trips to Savannah for an improved experience of our hotel.

Sincerely,
Felton Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Basics: Check-in was easy and the staff was friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and everything worked. There were plenty of accessible outlets for three women with cell phones, laptops, hair dryers..... Free parking in a covered garage was great. There was adequate space for the food and seating for the breakfast buffet.
Beyond the basics: What set this hotel above others I have stayed at was the friendly and helpful staff. Bruce and Maria were especially helpful - giving us good restaurant suggestions - directions - maps - and Bruce even found us an umbrella to use when it was raining.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reetzy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown
Address: 20 Johnston St, Savannah, GA 31405-5501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Savannah
#13 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah/Midtown hotel is where you want to stay. Ideally situated in Midtown Savannah, our hotel is located only three miles from the historic district and within walking distance of many fashionable retailers and well-known restaurants. Ask our Concierge to make reservations and recommendations for Savannah's area attractions. Our hotel offers four flexible event rooms able to accommodate up to 200 guests. Let our expert catering and events team take care of the details, including a personalized menu for your occasion from our celebrated executive chef. Spacious, welcoming and clean guest rooms await your arrival at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown. We offer hotel-style comfort with a range of home-like amenities including a 37-inch LCD TV with high definition channels and free WiFi. Stretch out in one of our spacious studio suites with additional amenities including a wet bar, microwave, refrigerator and sleeper sofa. These oversized rooms are 50% larger than a standard guest room, a great way to upgrade your stay. Start the day off right with Hampton's free hot breakfast, featuring a range of delicious hot options including fresh waffles and oatmeal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Savannah Midtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing