We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four night stay during fun vacation in Savannah”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown
Ranked #32 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
newton, ma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Four night stay during fun vacation in Savannah”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

This turned out to be an ideal hotel for four of us traveling to Savannah for vacation. The price was very reasonable, and included a decent hot breakfast each morning. The Hilton Gardens is next door and had a booking desk for the one tour we took. Rooms were good sized, clean and quiet.

The one drawback is the distance to the historical district which is around 5 or 6 miles. We found taking a taxi to be on the expensive side, ranging anywhere from $15 to $25 each way. Taxi from the airport was $50. As a result, we rented a car after the first day, and wished we had done so at the airport.

But despite the distance, we had a great time in Savannah and were very pleased with the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    331
    135
    62
    32
See reviews for
451
387
46
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Georgia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We ended up at this hotel by accident, at the last minute, when illness changed our other plans. We were quite pleased.

The room is a normal hotel room, sizewise, and the price was fair ($91-$94). Everything was clean and looked new. The TV was good, the coffeemaker worked, and the remote control was not bolted to the furniture in the assumption that my wife was some handheld-electronics kleptomaniac.

The best part of the room was its handling of electronics. The desk had outlets on the desktop and the nightstand had additional outlets and USB charging spots. Since wifey and I travel with laptops and Kindles and cell phones we were happy not to have to move furniture to get to the wall outlets.

The parking was in a deck and free.

The hotel lobby had a breakfast area and 24-hour coffee service. The breakfast was the one part of the stay that was disappointing. The good part -- the selection was pretty good. Lots of breads/pastries/cereals, fruits, waffle makers, a hot egg selection, and a meat side. The not-so-good -- One day's cheese omelets were an egg patty with a slice of American cheese inside. That was unusual. The other two days had scrambled eggs that were like little balls of egg. I have no idea how they made them. The waffle makers held onto your waffle like Dorothy holding onto Toto. Lots of complaining about torn apart waffles, etc. A little cooking spray would have done wonders.

Overall, I'd stay there again. The comfort of the room was the primary concern and I was happy with it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickN99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

we went to Savannah at the last minute and didn't have many hotels to pick from, as many were totally booked. The hampton Inn, midtown was avaiable so we booked it. It was only average. The room was fairly clean, but not outstanding, there were several stains on the carpet. There was no refrigerator or microwave in our King room. This was too bad as we could have brought home leftovers from dinner but had no where to store them. :( Our bed was comfortable but the air conditioner unit was very noisy, also alot of noise from the hallways.
The staff was friendly and polite. The pool was nice, clean and warm. The breakfast was only average too, nothing special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HIS_Midtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. We do apologize for the carpet stains in your room and the noise you experienced during your stay. Our Housekeeping Supervisor was immediately notified and the spots you’re referencing have since been removed. Thank you again for your comments. We appreciate all of our guest feedback, as it helps us to identify & improve all of our guests' experiences here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State Road, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Hotel was great - good service, very clean - typical Hampton. Only drawback was the fact that a guests SUV was broken into the night we stayed. Not sure if that's a function of the proximity to a slightly rough neighborhood, or just a fluke. We had a good stay at a good price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RL3_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HIS_Midtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting Savannah. I am aware of that particular incident that occurred involving another guest’s vehicle, but I can assure you, as the General Manager of the hotel since opening in 2010, we have never experienced this problem before. All guests that stay at our property are completely safe as we’re located in trendy Midtown Savannah which boasts many upscale shops and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Thanks for your comments and we look forward to serving you again!

Sincerely,
Felton Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitzgerald, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Although I didn't book this hotel due to a misunderstand at my last hotel I stay here. They were really nice and didn't give me and question as to my stay there.Everything was very nice and clean this is a lovey hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at this particular Hampton because of the good reviews on TA. We were very pleased with the accomodations. It is close to the historic district on one side and close to shopping malls and restaurants as well. The room we booked was not available so we were given an "accessible" room, which had a huge shower. The free breakfast buffet was very good with many choices for a hot and/or cold breakfast. We ate breakfast every day and then did not need to eat lunch, so it was a savings for us. It gets busy at certain times, but the staff replenished the trays quickly. They also had a coffee and tea bar in the lobby, which was available 24-7. The staff was very responsive to our needs. The only downside was that you could hear people next door and in the hallway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunlover020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great property! Well maintained, even were painting and refreshing one of the halls while we were there. Room was spacious, very clean and quiet. We were on the third floor facing downtown. The property was close to Historic Downtown Savannah. We were on an antiquing trip so this was very good. I would stay here again, we stayed 2 nights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kira-nerece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Comfort Inn Midtown
#42 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown
Address: 20 Johnston St, Savannah, GA 31405-5501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Savannah
#13 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah/Midtown hotel is where you want to stay. Ideally situated in Midtown Savannah, our hotel is located only three miles from the historic district and within walking distance of many fashionable retailers and well-known restaurants. Ask our Concierge to make reservations and recommendations for Savannah's area attractions. Our hotel offers four flexible event rooms able to accommodate up to 200 guests. Let our expert catering and events team take care of the details, including a personalized menu for your occasion from our celebrated executive chef. Spacious, welcoming and clean guest rooms await your arrival at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown. We offer hotel-style comfort with a range of home-like amenities including a 37-inch LCD TV with high definition channels and free WiFi. Stretch out in one of our spacious studio suites with additional amenities including a wet bar, microwave, refrigerator and sleeper sofa. These oversized rooms are 50% larger than a standard guest room, a great way to upgrade your stay. Start the day off right with Hampton's free hot breakfast, featuring a range of delicious hot options including fresh waffles and oatmeal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown Hotel Savannah
Hampton Inn And Suites Savannah Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing