We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spacious rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown
Ranked #30 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Reviewed November 19, 2012

1) Room: Stayed in October for a couple of nights, we subsequently experienced 4 other hotels during our trip at much higher rates, but the Hampton was actually the best room.

2) Staff: Friendly

3) Food: Breakfast the usual stodgy US fare with awful stewed coffee, strange processed egg omelettes, processed french toast, plastic plates, plastic knives/forks & plastic cups. No healthy eating options, but discovered this is normal in USA. In all the hotels the fruit looked the same - cubes of melon, grapes etc, which was probably out of a tin as well. I did notice the waffle maker, pour in your own batter. This was fun for a one off but add a million calories with breakfast syrup
However, this hotel did have a corner of the lobby dedicated to frozen food which you could take to your room & microwave, & there were a few "healthy options" choices. Also, teas in the lobby to help yourself.

4) Parking: Easy, free!! Unlike downtown Savannah.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capdellatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

It always make us happy when a guests says we were the best hotel room during their vacation. We apologize the food wasn't what you were expecting, but we hope you enjoyed the yogurt and fresh cut fruit, as well as the milk and cereal options. We provide a variety of foods for our hot breakfast in order to please all taste buds and eating choices. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will be our guest once again.

Best,
Danielle Valenchis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,355)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,144 - 1,150 of 1,355 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

The parking was great! Our room was spotless and the facility overall was very, very clean. The hotel is just a short drive to downtown and easily accessible. The fitness center is relatively small, but the machines they have are great and the center was clean. The continental breakfast was pretty good for hotel breakfast. I absolutely loved the bathroom/shower lay out. I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kdub0615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

We are thrilled you loved everything about your stay. We strive to make guest happy and provide an excellent experience while in Savannah. Thank you for sharing your comments for other travelers and look forward to seeing you again!

Best,
Danielle Valenchis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We arrived early to the hotel and our room wasn't ready yet but the associate at the front desk upgraded us to a suite and got us right it. That was the beginning of a very pleasant stay in savannah. We thoroughly enjoyed the room, very comfortable bed. The wifi was strong, the coffee downstairs very good. We enjoyed the breakfast, good quality and hot. The staff we encontered throughout our stay were pleasant and helpful. Over all, I have no complaints about this stay at all, would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majic39571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We regularly stay in Hampton Inns because they provide nice amenities (fitness & business centers, free wifi, complementary hot breakfast, etc.) at a decent price. This Hampton Inn was no different. Great customer service and nice, clean hotel. It is also a convenient drive into the historic district. We would definitely stay here again when visiting Savannah.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FL_Tampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel was only about 3-5 miles outside the historic district and in a nice location. Getting around was extremely easy and the hotel was in close proximity to a lot of things such as restaurants, shopping, etc. The hotel staff was excellent, very friendly and extremely helpful. The room was clean but the carpeting had several dark stains on it. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were not, so you might want to bring your own. The complimentary breakfast was awful. None of the toasters worked properly, the eggs were prepackaged and just reheated so they were rubbery, the orange juice was so watered down that it didn't even have any flavor to it, and the oatmeal was a mushy, runny mess, and had no taste. If you stay here, go somewhere else for breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Hello Guest,

We’re glad you enjoyed the convenient location and our friendly staff. We’re sorry you found the pillows uncomfortable but please know we do offer feather and form pillows. We want to make sure all our guests sleep soundly. Thank you for your feedback regarding breakfast and we’ll use your comments for continued growth. We hope you’ll stay with us once again on any returns trips to Savannah.

Best,
Danielle Valenchis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband was in Savannah on business and I came along because I wanted to enjoy the city. What a beautiful place! Our stay at the Hampton Midtown was exceptional. A very friendly and helpful staff was on hand every day. Even though the hotel is a bit of a drive from the city they were extremely helpful helping my find transportation to the attractions. There are also wonderful shopping opportunities within walking distance. Breakfast was always hot and a variety was offered every morning. A special shout out to the manager, Felton, who made my stay even more enjoyable and friendly with his gracious smile and helpful manner. You won't go wrong if you choose this hotel during your visit to Savannah! It's clean, friendly and don't forget your swimsuit, even during the winter, the indoor pool and whirlpool are awesome!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel was fine but I did ask the staff some questions about things to do in the area and they didn't seem to know their stuff. I always get the hotel staff to advise me and expect them to know basic things about the areas but this staff didn't.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pukuchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

We hope you enjoyed your trip to Savannah. It is uncharacteristic for our staff to be unable to give directions and we apologize for any shortcomings. We will continue to make sure our staff is providing the up most in customer service. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Danielle Valenchis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
9.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Midtown
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District
4.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Historic District
0.9 mi away
Best Western Central Inn
Best Western Central Inn
#37 of 114 in Savannah
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown

Address: 20 Johnston St, Savannah, GA 31405-5501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Savannah
#13 Family Hotel in Savannah
#13 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $116 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah/Midtown hotel is where you want to stay. Ideally situated in Midtown Savannah, our hotel is located only three miles from the historic district and within walking distance of many fashionable retailers and well-known restaurants. Ask our Concierge to make reservations and recommendations for Savannah's area attractions. Our hotel offers four flexible event rooms able to accommodate up to 200 guests. Let our expert catering and events team take care of the details, including a personalized menu for your occasion from our celebrated executive chef. Spacious, welcoming and clean guest rooms await your arrival at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown. We offer hotel-style comfort with a range of home-like amenities including a 37-inch LCD TV with high definition channels and free WiFi. Stretch out in one of our spacious studio suites with additional amenities including a wet bar, microwave, refrigerator and sleeper sofa. These oversized rooms are 50% larger than a standard guest room, a great way to upgrade your stay. Start the day off right with Hampton's free hot breakfast, featuring a range of delicious hot options including fresh waffles and oatmeal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown Hotel Savannah
Hampton Inn And Suites Savannah Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing