We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Beer Parlor

Crystal Beer Parlor
Ranked #16 of 857 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $35
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Savannah's second oldest restaurant and bar has been feeding hungry Savannahians and visitors for over 75 years! Your host, John Nichols is committed to providing you with a great meal, value for your dollar, efficient, friendly service and a good stiff drink! We serve the Crystal classics like the creamy Crab Stew, juicy Burgers and the hand cut Fries. You'll also want to try the new Grilled Greek Wings, the Gawgia Cracka Nachos, Avocado Hummus, Sauteed Veggie Wrap with Goat Cheese and the Peach Cobbler. We've got the best fried shrimp in town! We've also added delicious vegetarian items to the menu! Join us at The Crystal for lunch or dinner and experience this living part of Savannah's history! All major credit cards accepted. Handicapped accessible, handicapped parking.
Fort Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Bar like in decor but a huge menu that will have anything you want. We had burgers which were great. Waiter was so nice and accommodating for 9 of us at his table. We went there after the Garden Tour and got right in - it is off the busy streets and worth the walk if you want casual food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vickie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,897
    913
    191
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fried is for me”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

To say I am a fan of seafood is putting it lightly. I went here for lunch and got the fried oysters. They were by far the best fried oysters I've ever had. Tarter sauce is home made. I am also an onion ring fan. They were great! It's all about the batter! I also enjoyed a local beer, Son of a Peach. Very, very good. This is a must eat at place while you are in Savannah!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

The title says it all - we had a lovely evening here, enjoying the draft beer (they have a great choice) and burgers that were yummy & very satisfying! Service was friendly and quick and food & drinks were very good value. We ate here on a Sunday night and there was a great atmosphere - busy but not hectic or rowdy. We will definitely be back & highly recommend the Crystal Beer Parlor!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lady Lake, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This place was suggested to us by a friend who had been there on another trip. He desribed it as a place where the locals go and not one of the touristy spots. i'm glad we tried it because it is not mentioned much any where else. We went mid-afternoon, so they weren't very busy. My had the crab stew...awesome, i had the lamb burger with tzatziki sauce. It was huge and very good. I had the Ocilla slaw as a side,it had small pieces of peppers (banana peppers?) in it. It was very good and a slight change of pace.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nerk59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great southern bar food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Went early Friday evening as we heard queues were common, no bookings taken. Seated at high table in bar area, good atmosphere without being too noisy. Waitress was really good, in spite of a busy shift. Food was good southern style bar food, pulled pork nachos & gumbo were very tasty. Great selection of local beers plus vintage beers from the past. Well worth the 15 min walk from Andaz hotel beside Ellis square.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaeDae77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Beer Parlor also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Crystal Beer Parlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing