We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A FUN EXPERIENCE IN SAVANNAH”

Crystal Beer Parlor
Ranked #14 of 880 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Savannah's second oldest restaurant and bar has been feeding hungry Savannahians and visitors for over 75 years! Your host, John Nichols is committed to providing you with a great meal, value for your dollar, efficient, friendly service and a good stiff drink! We serve the Crystal classics like the creamy Crab Stew, juicy Burgers and the hand cut Fries. You'll also want to try the new Grilled Greek Wings, the Gawgia Cracka Nachos, Avocado Hummus, Sauteed Veggie Wrap with Goat Cheese and the Peach Cobbler. We've got the best fried shrimp in town! We've also added delicious vegetarian items to the menu! Join us at The Crystal for lunch or dinner and experience this living part of Savannah's history! All major credit cards accepted. Handicapped accessible, handicapped parking.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A FUN EXPERIENCE IN SAVANNAH”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

So many people told us we must go to the Crystal Beer Parlor we did. It was midday Sunday and the large restaurant was crowded, but the efficient service kept things moving along very well. We were seated promptly and our orders were taken when we were ready and our meals came in a very short time. We had more of a brunch type lunch and found it very enjoyable. Prices were on the low side, so this is a value experience. It is no wonder it has been popular for so many years. It gives excellent value for the dollar, quick and courteous service. There are many old time photos and news articles on the walls that recall lthe early owers and how it has been a welcoming place in Savannah for so many years. Crystal Beer is on our list for at least one meal the next time we are visiting Savannah. You can't go wrong here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monomoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,060
    971
    204
    32
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pardeeville
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great variety and quality of food”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We loved this restaurant so much, we came back 3 nights in a row. It had wonderful selections for appetizers and main meals so we could try something different every night. They had a variety of great seafood options, as well as the standard pub options. We really enjoyed two appetizers, the Georgia cracka nachos which had a huge amount of pulled pork and the teriyaki duck wings.
The beer was great too!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Disappointing service”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Let me start this off by saying that we did not eat here, so my average rating has nothing to do with the food. We decided to give this place a try after it was recommended to us by several other people as a great place to get good beer. We sat at the bar (since we weren't eating), and while we were very impressed with the beer selection, the service left a lot to be desired. The bartender walked by us several times without even making eye contact...I do understand that bartenders are busy, but a kind smile and a "I'll be with you in a second" can go a long way. When he finally acknowledged us, my friend asked a couple questions about wine, to which she got very terse, unfriendly answers. He made us feel very unwelcome, and so we had one drink and left. I think if we are ever in Savannah again, we will give it another try so we can try out the food, but we definitely won't be sitting at the bar!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fryauffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnAtCrystal, Owner at Crystal Beer Parlor, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
How very right you are - such treatment is simply uncalled for. As an ex-server, I know and have stressed to my staff that if you're busy, acknowledge new guests and tell them "you'll be with them as soon as you can". I've sent you a personal message hoping you'll contact me regarding your experience so that I might have the opportunity to fix it. Please accept my sincerest apologies. Of course, you're welcome and of course, I'd love to have you back! I look forward to hearing from you.

John Nichols
Owner, Crystal Beer Parlor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“You can't miss this place when in Savannah!!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Let me cut to the chase, don't miss this place! The building was right out of the 30's neighbor bar scene, friendly helpful staff, clean and lots of beer to choose from. We sampled the crystal hot wings and fried green tomatoes, both outstanding. The rest of the menu was tempting and we will go deeper on our next visit but we had obligations. We chatted with the hostess in the entrance, she was sincerely happy we had stopped in and treated us like friends who had known her and been patrons for years, not a family just in town from up-north for a one night stopover. This place is what a neighborhood bar should be and although the waterfront is a real thrill, being off the beaten path and being made to feel right at home, makes tis a place we will frequent whenever we are in town. Again: Go here!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Campah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Love the history”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This restaurant/bar has great history on its walls. Excellent beer selection including your Dad's favorites selection of old time local beers. Food is very good. Crab cake sandwich was al crab. pulled pork nachos at half size was enough to share. Save room for desserts- peach cobbler is fantastic as is the banana dessert. and mud pie. They should take reservations.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Beer Parlor also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Crystal Beer Parlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing