We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in town!”
Review of Savannah Rambles

Savannah Rambles
Ranked #14 of 154 Tours in Savannah
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You are invited to walk with me as I use Savannah's architectural history as a visual aid to tell the history of Savannah's innovative city plan, icredible mix of architectural styles, and generations of diverse people who have created America's most uniquely beautiful city. I have been personally involved with the restoration of numerous buildings within Savannah's historic districts and can offer a unique perspective among tour guides.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The guide is one of the most knowledgable of his subject matter that I have ever experianced! What an interesting topic to consider and a breath of fresh air from the typical "ghost stories" one might encounter on a tour in an historic city!

Thank ragz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinlaw815, Owner at Savannah Rambles, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for review, I love the fact that you are from Savannah and hope you will encourage more locals to learn about the architecture of their city. It just seems to be part of human nature that the last city you explore is your own, and the locals miss so much because of it. Hopefully, this review might make more locals consider a closer look at Savannah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dirk hardison"
in 34 reviews
"architectural walking tour"
in 11 reviews
"great tour"
in 31 reviews
"hour tour"
in 19 reviews
"unique city"
in 5 reviews
"his recommendation"
in 4 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 15 reviews
"historic district"
in 24 reviews
"answered all of our questions"
in 6 reviews
"architectural details"
in 6 reviews
"two hours"
in 12 reviews
"private tour"
in 10 reviews
"knowledgeable guide"
in 6 reviews
"savannah history"
in 11 reviews
"would highly recommend this tour"
in 8 reviews
"johnson square"
in 4 reviews
"small group"
in 6 reviews
Filter

151 - 155 of 288 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

Dirk does a fantastic job of describing the history, the people and architecture of Savannah. He is very knowledgeable without loading you down with dates, just the facts. We would definitely recommend his architectural ramble to anyone coming to Savannah!

Thank Linnbada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinlaw815, Owner at Savannah Rambles, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thank you for reviewing savannah Rambles! I strongly feel that the people and their culture are important when discussing architecture since they are why the architecture exists. I purposely follow a path which places most of the buildings in rough chronological order which enables me to minimize the use of dates, though they do remain a helpful part of the description.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was the highlight of our trip to Savannah. Dirk focuses on the architecture of the historic district, and the details and stories gave us a real appreciation of the area. The walk takes around 2 hrs and covers quite a bit of territory so wear your running shoes! If you are bringing children on the tour (like us) don't forget drinks & snacks.
One side note: we had booked a private tour & there were 2 other people added without our prior knowledge. It didn't matter (we paid the group rate instead of the private rate), but it would have been nice to have known about the change in advance.

1  Thank CM Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinlaw815, Owner at Savannah Rambles, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for the great review. I was embarrassed when I realized a few days later that you had requested a Private Ramble. I always try to put my customers first, but it does seem that I am destined to make mistakes from time to time. The up side for me is that I will be watching my scheduling much closer from now on. I do hope that my oversight did not put any damper on your visit to Savannah. Many thanks for your tactful and gracious review style and many happy travels to you and your fine family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Dirk was a great guide, providing a wealth of information! I loved the focus on architecture & the stories behind it.

Thank teresa v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinlaw815, Owner at Savannah Rambles, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thank you for the fine Review! I love it when my Ramblers are so engaged that they won't let a little rain get in the way of enjoying our beautiful city. That's why I only cancel rambles when at the request of a customer or lightening becomes an issue. Savannah just looks good in the rain!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We took the two hour tour with Dirk in late February and his architectural perspective gave a great context to the social and cultural history of Savannah. Once he starts talking his depth of knowledge is quite apparent. This is not just listening to a script, but to an extremely thoughtful guide who clearly has mastery of the material and the city. He loves to talk about this subject. We wish that we were able to take his extended five hour tour. We're sure there was much more to be learned.

1  Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savannah Rambles also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Savannah Rambles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing