We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“under-rated”
Review of Saigon Restaurant - CLOSED

Saigon Restaurant
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“under-rated”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is a great spot with gluten free selections for those so restricted.. Very reasonable prices for Savannah with appropriate wine list. Vietnamese is superb, but curries are also well executed. A favourite place for lunch.Ambiance is admittedly less than thrilling, but all-glass surround is entertaining. Try it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank homme_sur_la_ville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    6
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wrong choice!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I stopped by the restaurant because of its location.

We ordered several typical Thai’s dishes and we got something that we could not imagine. It seems that the dishes were mixed with a bunch of ingredients without any order and they had no flavor at all.

The dishes were not Thai and definitely not Chinese or Vietnamese

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
188 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“WHAT A MISTAKE!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Dinner at the Saigon restaurant was a bad experience all around. We should have walked out as soon as we saw the dining room, but we were hungry and it was getting late. What a mistake!

The dining room is unfriendly and the food is awful. I ordered a Vietnamese noodle dish. I got two rubbery shrimp and a few pieces of chicken over soggy spaghetti. It was obviously nuked because some pieces were hot, others cold.

My husband's dinner was just as bad- dried out salmon covered with a mystery red sauce.

We never eat fast food, but we would have been better off at KFC or Taco Bell!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank evamaria13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Better then it looks”
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

It doesn't look like much when you walk in but the food was good. I am not an expert on thai food but it was good. Our waitres could have smiled at least once but other then that not to bad. Great value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ant929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food and great prices. Service? Meh.”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I have had several dishes from here and consistently, the food is excellent. The service can vary widely depending on who you get, but it ranges from adequate to very good. I recommend the Saigon Noodles with chicken and a Thai tea! If you like Thai or Vietnamese food, definitely put this place on your list.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank rdavidp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Restaurant also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing