We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality Dining” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocks on the River

Rocks on the River
Reserve with OpenTable
Rocks on the River is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #94 of 857 Restaurants in Savannah
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Whitaker St.
Transit: Trolly tours and pedi-cabs both have stops on Bay Street at the entrance to the Bohemian Hotel.
Description: Set on vibrant River Street, the Bohemian Hotel presents an exciting dining destination to experience delicious food and dynamic entertainment in the comfortable, casual atmosphere of Rocks on the River Modern Grill and Rocks on the Roof. Surrounded by custom, river-inspired design elements of driftwood, brick and rough wood, Rocks on the River offers a menu of delicious American comfort food with a Southern contemporary approach that includes hamburgers, steak, fish and mussels. Enjoy the authentic wood-grilled flavor produced by the restaurant’s large pizza oven and a large wine and beer menu to complement your meal. Featuring a cozy fire pit, live entertainment, and an engaging tapas-style menu with extensive drink and martini choices, Rocks on the Roof is Savannah’s newest hotspot. Relax and unwind while enjoying fantastic views of Savannah River and the historic district from this rooftop lounge.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quality Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Our second visit within six months did not disappoint. Great selections and efficient service characterize Rocks.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    247
    105
    51
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE BAR SERVICE”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

The bar tender (Amy) was extremely rude and unprepared. We arrived early to our reservation and decided to have a drink at the bar, which by the way was not busy. This Amy greeted us in a conventional manner and then took out order for a couple of cocktails. Once she served us the cocktails I asked to close out our tab with her because we were moving to out table. She slapped the bill on the bar an walked away then we waited about 10 min for her to approach our side of the bar again once she did we asked to please be cashed out. Once she ran my card she once again slapped the receipt on the bar and did not even provide a pen. On her next round to our side of the bar she dropped a glass with ice on the bar an all over my purse. I was highly aggravated but I still kept my calm and asked for a pen which she did not have, so she snapped and told another person on the bar to give us a pen. I don't understand why would a great restaurant have such an unprofessional bartender. Will definitively not go back to that bar.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alejandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt E, General Manager at Rocks on the River, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Alejandra D,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your experience with our staff and Rocks on the River.

I am sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience with Amy. This is not an example of the level of service she normally provides. Your comments have been shared with the team for immediate follow up.

We do hope you give us another opportunity to serve you.

At your service,

Kurt Englund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breakfast at rocks.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Rocks is the name of the restaurant in the Bohemian Hotel in savannah. The hotel is on River Street in the historic district. The restaurant is open to the public and serves breakfast everyday until 11am. The restaurant is very well presented , modern and clean. As it also serves as the hotel restaurant it is never empty and so has a good atmosphere. Walking in , I was quickly greeted and seated and the obligatory glass of water placed in front of me. The waitress was very attentive and friendly and quick to top up the coffee. The menu offers a good variety of breakfasts and the food was excellent. The price was very reasonable , just over twenty dollars for a seafood omelette , coffee, fruit juice and tip. It was also very leisurely and relaxing , allowing time to read a paper over breakfast without rushing you out like some diners do.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 123oleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Waited forever for food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Maybe because it was Christmas day and they were short staffed, but it took over 45 minutes to get our food. Food was great though and a really pretty place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank stephp6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt E, General Manager at Rocks on the River, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear stephp6,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us at Rocks on the Roof. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed most aspects of your meal, but sorry to hear your service was slow.

Your feedback has been shared with the team. A comment like yours helps us stay on our toes, and make steps for continuous improvement.

We do look forward to serving you again in the near future on your next visit.


At your service,

Kurt Englund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

It's a beautiful restaurant and great atmosphere. The food was really good as well (except the calamari). The She Crab soup is a must. The service, however, from our particular waitress was not the best

Helpful?
Thank ungria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocks on the River also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Rocks on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing