We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal. Good menu selections.”
Review of Rocks on the River

Rocks on the River
Ranked #101 of 876 Restaurants in Savannah
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Whitaker St.
Transit: Trolly tours and pedi-cabs both have stops on Bay Street at the entrance to the Bohemian Hotel.
Description: Set on vibrant River Street, the Bohemian Hotel presents an exciting dining destination to experience delicious food and dynamic entertainment in the comfortable, casual atmosphere of Rocks on the River Modern Grill and Rocks on the Roof. Surrounded by custom, river-inspired design elements of driftwood, brick and rough wood, Rocks on the River offers a menu of delicious American comfort food with a Southern contemporary approach that includes hamburgers, steak, fish and mussels. Enjoy the authentic wood-grilled flavor produced by the restaurant’s large pizza oven and a large wine and beer menu to complement your meal. Featuring a cozy fire pit, live entertainment, and an engaging tapas-style menu with extensive drink and martini choices, Rocks on the Roof is Savannah’s newest hotspot. Relax and unwind while enjoying fantastic views of Savannah River and the historic district from this rooftop lounge.
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice meal. Good menu selections.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We went to Rocks on the River on a Sunday evening in mid August for dinner. I went with my wife and our two teenagers. The people were friendly and the atmosphere was nice. They also have a good beer selection. However, the service seemed a bit slow. Not sure if that's just the way it is in Savannah but none of the servers appeared to show any urgency.

The menu has a decent amount of selections. Also, the appetizers were good. We liked the fried green tomatoes.

For our main course we split two pizzas between three of us. The pizzas were ok but nothing special.

The restaurant is in a decent location along the riverfront. Not great views but not bad. The prices were just ok for the meals we got. No real value but no ripoff either.

The atmosphere was bright and it felt like a clean place. It's similar to a fast casual place like a TGI Fridays but a bit nicer. It's not a high end romantic kind of place by any means. We would consider it if we return to Savannah.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RWM-JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt E, General Manager at Rocks on the River, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear RWM-JR,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us at Rocks on the River. I appreciate hearing your detailed comments.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the menu, our staff and the atmosphere. I am sorry that you found the service to be slow. All of your feedback has been shared with the team.

We do look forward to serving you again in the near future.


Kurt Englund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    256
    109
    54
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fontenay-aux-Roses, France
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good southern food and nice location”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We ate on the terrace in front of the river. It is not the nicest terrace as the table are on the street where a lot of tourists walk and some cars pass by. You can nevertheless enjoy the view on the river
The food was excellent. The service was professional and friendly

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julien G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great when it's not raining!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Wow, is how we would describe the extraordinarily pleasant and helpful staff here. One of our servers was Brook and she was a real gem. The view from the upper deck of the Bohemian is awesome. Drinks are served like they really mean it. Drink prices perhaps a little on the high side, but no complaints whatsoever. If you want experience a river view in Savannah with a cocktail, this is your place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marlinchaser3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outer Banks NC
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Weather was bad and we decided not to wonder too far from the hotel until the rain let up. We sat at the bar and the staff was great. We decided to get a pizza and was informed by the bartender that they had been voted number one for pizza. We were skeptical at first. When the pizza came, we changed our mind. It was fantastic. We had pizza at a place in City Market that claimed to be real New York pizza and Rocks on the River beat it hands down! The bartender was always very attentive and we even shared tid bits we each new about Savannahs history. Great place for a bite and drinks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pirateskully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penns Grove, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“beautiful place, slow service”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very uneven for a Sunday brunch. The place was not busy, but we had a hard time getting service. The food and atmosphere was very good. A shame the service didn't keep up.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank pbshse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt E, General Manager at Rocks on the River, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear pbshse,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us at Rocks on the River. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the the food and atmoshphere.

I am very concerned to hear that your service was slower than you would have liked. Your comments have been shared with the team.

I do hope you will give us another opportunity in the future! Thank you again.


Kurt Englund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocks on the River also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Rocks on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing