We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CASUAL ATMOSPHERE, DECENT FOOD”

The Flying Fish Bar and Grill
Ranked #178 of 860 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Crandall, GA
Level Contributor
275 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“CASUAL ATMOSPHERE, DECENT FOOD”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

After a long road trip to the beach, and always on the lookout for new places to try, we stopped in here for a late lunch. The place was nothing fancy and really just a typical place to eat near the beach. You can sit outside on the porch under the umbrellas, but we chose to sit inside on this cool afternoon. My husband ordered blackened salmon and I ordered two items off the appetizer list: the buffalo shrimp and calamari. My husband's plate came out with small red potatoes and steamed vegetables. It was presented very nicely on a red Styrofoam plate. Of my two dishes, I preferred the buffalo shrimp which was quite tasty. The calamari was overdone and too crunchy and tough so I didn't eat all of it. We always like to try new places and while we probably won't be back, we wouldn't not recommend it to anyone. It's just not our favorite place for seafood.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaandBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    85
    30
    10
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious Fried Shrimp!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were staying on Tybee Island and my daughter recommended we visit the Flying Fish for some great seafood. It is nothing fancy and is very casual but the batter on the shrimp is very light and the shrimp is good size. They were the best we had while we were there!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bettymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went to the flying fish last night. The food was excellent I had the crispy mahi sandwich and my wife had a mahi taco certainly the service was wonderful the food was excellent and we will go back again

Helpful?
Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrier
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Best Seafood Hands Down!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Every trip to Tybee Island or Savannah always includes at least one visit to the Flying Fish Bar & Grill. I love the Crab Cakes. The Warm Bread and Cheese appetizer is awesome as well. To us no trip to the area is complete until we have eaten here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kaye A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

The food was FANTASTIC! The prices for both food and drinks were reasonable and inline with other comparable venues. The service was a little slow but to be fair our waitress did apologize for the delay in service and explained they got slammed prior to our arrival. I bartended through college so I can sympathize

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flying Fish Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to The Flying Fish Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing