We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Causual and delicious French Breakfast”

Papillote - French Cuisine To-Go
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Papillote is a casual French restaurant located in Downtown Savannah. Papillote is a family run business, and we make everything here from scratch daily. Derrick is the head chef and deals with everything savory. His mother, Vilma is the pastry chef and deals with all things sweet. Eat in or take out - very casual and a great atmosphere where you order at the counter and enjoy your meal at any open table you want. We have daily specials, and cater to many different dietary constraints!
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Causual and delicious French Breakfast”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We had breakfast here on Saturday morning. I had the french toast (perfect) and my husband had the croque madame (even better- yum). Cappuccinos were fantastic and service was quick and friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jgardner362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    35
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Cafe in Downtown Savannah”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

My husband and I just had lunch at the Papillote in Savannah, GA. What a charming and delightful little café. The food was incredible and all freshly made right there, the tomato basil hot soup was served with brioche. I had a salad which was prettily presented with hazelnuts, sliced apricots and grapes. The salad's vinaigrette was light and refreshing. The salad was prettily presented with hazelnuts and sliced apricots and was light and refreshing. My husband had a very authentic ham/cheese toasted sandwich which he couldn't finish. French music played in the background and the atmosphere was charming and friendly. They have many home made pastries in the glass case that absolutely looked yummy! My only complaint was that the table tops needed to be cleaned better as they were very sticky. All in all I would definitely return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosemarybarry2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Real Treat”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We ate here for lunch on our first day in Savannah. The service was excellent and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The food was uniquely delicious. The macarons were amazing. You can't get food like this just anywhere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great meal, start to finish”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This cafe is adorable. Pretty tiny inside, but on a TA tip, we grabbed our sandwiches to go to enjoy at at the square on a pretty day and watched the kids play on the splash pad. We enjoyed a couple of items from the specials board, one a roast beef sandwich that was killer and their truffle steak fries. They have great fresh bread and are generous with the sandwich meat. On a tip from a local I ordered the La Parisien which was also delicious and topped with perfectly mandoline'd (sp/) apples. Its Great and quick French cuisine. The staff is very friendly and the restaurant is clean. Oh, and we also had the chocolate mousse.YUM! Recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeganMcReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shoulda, woulda, coulda, didn't”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I probably would have enjoyed the food if I hadn't shown up 30 minutes BEFORE closing only to be told, "We're closed, Ma'am." I went there Tuesday--not open--my mistake (they don't claim to be open on Tuesday). I went there Wednesday (the website says they're open until 7:00, which clearly wasn't the case). Come on Savannah, am I being punked? Do businesses here keep business hours, or are they open only when they feel like it?

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diane_Donovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papillote - French Cuisine To-Go also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing