We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taste of France in Savannah” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papillote - French Cuisine To-Go - CLOSED

Papillote - French Cuisine To-Go
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Papillote is a casual French restaurant located in Downtown Savannah. Papillote is a family run business, and we make everything here from scratch daily. Derrick is the head chef and deals with everything savory. His mother, Vilma is the pastry chef and deals with all things sweet. Eat in or take out - very casual and a great atmosphere where you order at the counter and enjoy your meal at any open table you want. We have daily specials, and cater to many different dietary constraints!
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Taste of France in Savannah”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We needed a quick dinner before catching a show in Savannah. Seeing the reviews of Papillote and thinking about our fav French restaurants back home, we decided to go! We ordered the roasted red pepper soup; Croque Monsieur; Le Parisien; and Goat Cheese-Spinach-Roasted Tomato Pie.

The soup is home made on the premises and I could taste the difference. No fillers, no extra salt - just the flavor of the veggies. Delicious!

The Croque Monsieur is a nicely made sandwich - thick with ham and cheese. The Parisien is a very artfully prepared sandwich with ~10 extremely thin green apple slices folded over in a beautiful pattern on top of the sandwich! The Tomato Pie was a very interesting cross between pizza and quiche. All the flavors were delicate and spot on.

Highly recommend Papillote.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    35
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfectly prepared, fresh and excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

My favorite place to eat in Savannah. I get to visit every few months and in a city with some really fantastic restaurants, this one is perfect for foodies. Going again this weekend - can't wait! Essentially, it's about the quality of the ingredients and the expertise of the preparation - send anyone who just wants volume to Paula Deen's - if you want great food go to Papillote. The chef is French and the French sensibility surrounding food, ingredients, preparation and presentation is front and center in this little bistro. I've tried several things on the menu and have never been disappointed. I have a knack for selecting the most interesting dish du jour and neighbors at other tables have asked what I was eating every time - I've even shared with some of them. I recommend this place to everyone I meet who is going to be in Sav. Very low-key atmosphere, beautiful food - and stay off the cell phones when ordering - respect the food!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank willflyforfood2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellence in taste!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

My family and I had several items from the menu. We were awed by the taste of our meal. Not enough seating but the food and staff were terrific. Would go back when in savannah!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KiddSpringfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Great lunch, wife had the pork baguette with chipotle sauce and I had the chicken and beschemel in a puff pastry. We were both very happy with our food selections. Love the atmosphere and love the portion sizes for lunch. About 30$ for two entrees and a side... Thoroughly recommend during shopping on broad street, excellent experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Devon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
178 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A little Paris on Broughton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We went for Sunday brunch and will come back for lunch. A very small place with only a few tables. You order at the counter but they serve you at the tables. They bake their own bread and the menu contains several French specialties. We talked with the owner and his Mother, who is Italian. A very casual place but with quality, freshly prepared items. Try the macaroons, they are great and take home some bakery items.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank O4ADAYONTHEBEACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papillote - French Cuisine To-Go also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing